Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
EXCELLENT! Subsituted 1 can of garbanzo beans for the black eyed peas and added 1 can of black olives. This is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious! As a poor college student, I made this for a little party and everyone loved it! I also snack on it when I should be studying. I also added corn, just because I liked the color. I would definitely not put as much salad dressing in there as the recipe calls for, mine was way too strong at first, so I drained some off. Now it's delicious, especially after sitting and marinading all night. I also put shredded cheese on the top for fun, it's great :) definitely going to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I made this for a friend who needed a dish for a party and didn't have time to cook. It was a big hit. I have tried it both with regular and low fat dressing and honestly couldn't tell a big difference. My 17 year old daughter loved it too, and plans to whip some up at her Girl Scout summer camp next week. Great with corn or tortilla chips, and even good in pita as a sandwich. Make it up the day before for extra flavor. I have found it keeps at least two weeks in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!! Had it at a party as a dip and promptly asked for the recipe. It was THAT good. Anyways, I made it the next day here at home. I've put it in baked potatoes, quesadillas, omelets, microwave nachos (yeah, I'm classy like that)... I've yet to find something it's NOT good with. Ok, my 2.5 year old refuses to eat it, but that's a whole different story. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! We love to sit on our porch in Colorado on a sunny summer day with this dish, a great glass of iced tea or sangria. Add a little fresh lime when serving for an added fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Easy & awesome! We also added 1 can of mexi-corn for an extra crunch. And a little cayenne pepper for added kick. You can tailor this recipe to your tastes very easily. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very tasty, I added chopped celery, corn, Lawry's seasoned salt and black pepper. I didn't have the bell pepper, cilantro or coriander. But will use next time. I served it with Tortilla chips and grilled barbecued Conecuh sausage- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was fantastic!!! I will make this in place of salsa, and it is great for a side dish. My picky son tried it before I could let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours and he couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very good. Had to make a couple changes based on what I had available. I used about 1/2 cup of dressing and that was plenty strong. I also used pinto and black beans, and added some corn. Excellent as a dip and we heated the leftovers and put it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good except for the fact that I sent DH to the store for the cilantro and he came home with mint! He also told me the "cilantro" cost 3.99 (which it didn't). I'd love to try this with the cilantro next time! I didn't use the mint! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States