Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I can't get enough of this! I used a can of diced tomatos with jalapenos (for simplicity) & added about 2.5 T of garlic. My family loves garlic, so if you like it a bit milder stay with the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
this was an absolute hit at my "Texas Thanksgiving"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This dish wouldn't be complete for me if I didn't add a can of corn. Sometimes I also add avocados to the mix. Anytime I have this at a party or a dinner, it always gets rave reviews. Plus, it is relatively healthy compared to most other dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very tasty. Only needs 1/2 the salad dressing or it's swimming. Great if you add feta cheese and red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was excellent!!!!!! I was asked by several people at a party i was at last weekend for the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this recipe! Does anyone know how long this will keep in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I was afraid with the mix of ingredients, but this has a light and terrific flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made two alterations: I doubled the amount of black beans, and used lime salad dressing instead of Italian. I'm from Texas, so there's just something about Mexican food and limes that go together. I also let this marinate overnight be fore I serve it. Can't tell you how many people have emailed me for this recipe! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
EXCELLENT! Subsituted 1 can of garbanzo beans for the black eyed peas and added 1 can of black olives. This is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious! As a poor college student, I made this for a little party and everyone loved it! I also snack on it when I should be studying. I also added corn, just because I liked the color. I would definitely not put as much salad dressing in there as the recipe calls for, mine was way too strong at first, so I drained some off. Now it's delicious, especially after sitting and marinading all night. I also put shredded cheese on the top for fun, it's great :) definitely going to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States