Texas Caviar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This dish wouldn't be complete for me if I didn't add a can of corn. Sometimes I also add avocados to the mix. Anytime I have this at a party or a dinner, it always gets rave reviews. Plus, it is relatively healthy compared to most other dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very tasty. Only needs 1/2 the salad dressing or it's swimming. Great if you add feta cheese and red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was excellent!!!!!! I was asked by several people at a party i was at last weekend for the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I love this recipe! Does anyone know how long this will keep in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelbyville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I was afraid with the mix of ingredients, but this has a light and terrific flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made two alterations: I doubled the amount of black beans, and used lime salad dressing instead of Italian. I'm from Texas, so there's just something about Mexican food and limes that go together. I also let this marinate overnight be fore I serve it. Can't tell you how many people have emailed me for this recipe! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
EXCELLENT! Subsituted 1 can of garbanzo beans for the black eyed peas and added 1 can of black olives. This is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious! As a poor college student, I made this for a little party and everyone loved it! I also snack on it when I should be studying. I also added corn, just because I liked the color. I would definitely not put as much salad dressing in there as the recipe calls for, mine was way too strong at first, so I drained some off. Now it's delicious, especially after sitting and marinading all night. I also put shredded cheese on the top for fun, it's great :) definitely going to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I made this for a friend who needed a dish for a party and didn't have time to cook. It was a big hit. I have tried it both with regular and low fat dressing and honestly couldn't tell a big difference. My 17 year old daughter loved it too, and plans to whip some up at her Girl Scout summer camp next week. Great with corn or tortilla chips, and even good in pita as a sandwich. Make it up the day before for extra flavor. I have found it keeps at least two weeks in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!! Had it at a party as a dip and promptly asked for the recipe. It was THAT good. Anyways, I made it the next day here at home. I've put it in baked potatoes, quesadillas, omelets, microwave nachos (yeah, I'm classy like that)... I've yet to find something it's NOT good with. Ok, my 2.5 year old refuses to eat it, but that's a whole different story. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States