Texas Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
LOVE, LOVE the frosting.....very cake-like brownies, which I like....but if you like the fudgey kind, these won't be for you. Super for an office "share" goodie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I absolutely loved these Texas brownies, so did my husband. They are moist and delicious! Make sure you pour the frosting on while its hot for it sets quickly once out of the pot. I had made these a few years ago and lost the recipe. I am so glad I found it! Thanks Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my husband, especially with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream. I had to make a few changes because I can't find buttermilk in my town in Mexico; I used 1 cup of sour cream for the buttermilk, used 10 tbsp. of cocoa rather than 4-1/2 tbsp., used 1 cup of coffee for 1 cup of water, and added 1 large tsp. of cinnamon. I frosted with a can of frosting I had in the cupboard. They were great, very cakey and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
MMM! this makes ALOT of brownie so if your just wanting a small portion recalculate. i was just trying to make enough for 2/4 and got so much rich chocolaty goodness i gave 3 portions away for the holidays. but it was GREAT! not a brownie but more like a heavy decadent ultra chocolate cake and the icing was awesome. of course i doubled the cocoa :) its the only way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was great the next day. Fresh and warm, it wasn't as great. The frosting came out PERFECT and I think the brownie did too, since it was very cakey. It didn't taste very chocolatey though. It probably would've been better with some chocolate chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
easy to make and taste great....I have made them twice in the last few weeks and they are a big hit......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
It was a good cake but it was definitely NOT brownies. I'm giving it three stars taking one away because it was a very good but not a totally awesome cake and another because it says its brownies and its not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is basically a sheet cake. It tasted good, but the recipe wasn't edited very well. The salt that is called for in the ingredients isn't mentioned in the directions and some places the recipe calls for butter and elsewhere it says margarine. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Lack that chocolate flavor and quite dry, very cake-like. We prefer moist and chewey brownies. I followed this recipe to the tee, at 20 minutes, they were not done, so they needed an extra 5 minutes or so. Not sure I would try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made these and brought them to work for a co-worker who is from Texes, it was her birthday. Everyone raved about them! I feel bad....the brownies took the spotlight over her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States