Texas Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I debated between 3 and 4 stars, and went for the higher rating because the product is good. However, this is NOT a brownie. This is a very dense cake. I doubled the chocolate at other's suggestion and felt the chocolate-ness of it was perfect. I also substituted one cup of brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar. As the other Texas Brownie (cake) suggests cinnamon, I a tsp of cinnamon to this recipe. I also used the frosting recipe from Texas Brownies I. I am very happy with the finished product but again must stress that this is not a Brownie - it is a moist dense chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These are awesome! They are more like a cake than a brownie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made these and brought them to work for a co-worker who is from Texes, it was her birthday. Everyone raved about them! I feel bad....the brownies took the spotlight over her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Definitely a cake - not a brownie, tho i think the size & richness qualifies this to be called Texas Brownies! Speaking of size - this recipe made TWO jelly roll pans (so i doubled the frosting) - i was afraid of a big mess if i only used one pan. So wonderful & made enough to share with friends & freeze some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my husband, especially with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream. I had to make a few changes because I can't find buttermilk in my town in Mexico; I used 1 cup of sour cream for the buttermilk, used 10 tbsp. of cocoa rather than 4-1/2 tbsp., used 1 cup of coffee for 1 cup of water, and added 1 large tsp. of cinnamon. I frosted with a can of frosting I had in the cupboard. They were great, very cakey and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe several times. It is more of a cake than a brownie...but it is delicious and moist. I always use plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Good overall, but I was dissappointed with the frosing. I have made your recipe before and it was great. .Just remember to gradually add your cocoa , icing sugar and vanilla. It makes a big differnce in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
MMM! this makes ALOT of brownie so if your just wanting a small portion recalculate. i was just trying to make enough for 2/4 and got so much rich chocolaty goodness i gave 3 portions away for the holidays. but it was GREAT! not a brownie but more like a heavy decadent ultra chocolate cake and the icing was awesome. of course i doubled the cocoa :) its the only way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was great the next day. Fresh and warm, it wasn't as great. The frosting came out PERFECT and I think the brownie did too, since it was very cakey. It didn't taste very chocolatey though. It probably would've been better with some chocolate chips mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I was very disappointed with this recipie. I have been looking for the original Texas Brownie recipie that I had & I was very happy to find this one. I made this recipe twice and neither time it turned out well. I know the last recipe I had called for instant coffee, but I used water instead, like this recipe. I found it very bland and lacking in 'chocolate' flavor. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States