Texas Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
Good overall, but I was dissappointed with the frosing. I have made your recipe before and it was great. .Just remember to gradually add your cocoa , icing sugar and vanilla. It makes a big differnce in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I am a BIG fan of Norma's original Texas Brownie recipe. These are also wonderful. Nice cake-like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I have made this recipe several times. It is more of a cake than a brownie...but it is delicious and moist. I always use plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I was very disappointed with this recipie. I have been looking for the original Texas Brownie recipie that I had & I was very happy to find this one. I made this recipe twice and neither time it turned out well. I know the last recipe I had called for instant coffee, but I used water instead, like this recipe. I found it very bland and lacking in 'chocolate' flavor. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I debated between 3 and 4 stars, and went for the higher rating because the product is good. However, this is NOT a brownie. This is a very dense cake. I doubled the chocolate at other's suggestion and felt the chocolate-ness of it was perfect. I also substituted one cup of brown sugar for one of the cups of white sugar. As the other Texas Brownie (cake) suggests cinnamon, I a tsp of cinnamon to this recipe. I also used the frosting recipe from Texas Brownies I. I am very happy with the finished product but again must stress that this is not a Brownie - it is a moist dense chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
We LOVE this recipe and no matter what you call it (texas sheet cake brownies, texas brownies or buttermilk brownies) it is all good. For the frosting, I also used buttermilk in place of the milk, which adds extra richness and a nice tangy chocolate flavor. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
These are awesome! They are more like a cake than a brownie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made these and brought them to work for a co-worker who is from Texes, it was her birthday. Everyone raved about them! I feel bad....the brownies took the spotlight over her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Lack that chocolate flavor and quite dry, very cake-like. We prefer moist and chewey brownies. I followed this recipe to the tee, at 20 minutes, they were not done, so they needed an extra 5 minutes or so. Not sure I would try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is basically a sheet cake. It tasted good, but the recipe wasn't edited very well. The salt that is called for in the ingredients isn't mentioned in the directions and some places the recipe calls for butter and elsewhere it says margarine. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States