Texas Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I never had made this before but had tasted a number of versions that others had made. The ingredients are also listed out of order which makes the recipe hard to follow. Had to cook it way longer than 20 minutes given the error--I agree with other who stated it makes 2 jelly roll pans. The taste was good once I figured out the different issues with the recipe, but the fat and calorie content makes it unlikely I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I received this recipe years ago from my Aunt Janet and it is a favorite at home and to take to work. Sometimes I add cinnamon and use strong coffee instead of the water for a nice amp up of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
These are definitely a cake like texture , but more dense and moist than cake. I used 6 heaping tablespoons of cocoa. I didn't have buttermilk but you can make buttermilk by squeezing lemon juice into your milk and let it sit for 5 minutes. The amount of batter was perfect for the pan size stated in the recipe, 12x18 jellyroll pan. I lined it with parchment paper and sprayed with non stick spray. I did not use the frosting. When the brownies came out of the oven I put mini marshmallows on top with chopped pecans. I melted a bag of chocolate chips with 1 cup of chocolate hazelnut spread. I drizzled this on top of the marshmallows .......heavenly, delicious ...out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe is a huge hit in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houlton, Maine, USA
Living In: Monroe, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I have made these several times and they are the best brownies my family has ever had . absolutely brilliant .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I made these alll the time when the kids were home. Now just make for special holidays. I use the biggest cookie sheet I can find,usually a bakers half sheet and ice while they are still warm. They are still our favorite chocolate cake. Makes a lot.Enough to share
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This definetely should be called cake rather than brownies. They are not dense or chewy at all, but light and fluffy and lacked chocolate flavor. The batter was very thin and pourable, not thick and spreadable like true brownie batter should be. I am throwing them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Best chocolate cake ever. I say cake because it is much more like a cake than a brownie. I used whole milk instead of butter milk and also added some milk to the icing. wow is this delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I made this the night before because I wanted them to mellow. They were very good and moist but cake-like in texture. I used sour cream as I didn't have buttermilk. I cooked them About 4 min. less than required. I did put the frosting on while the bars were hot from the oven; for 2 reasons. One because it tends to make a more moist bar and second the frosting will stay shiney and be more like a fudge. I gave this 4 stars only because it was more like a cake than brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Definitely a cake - not a brownie, tho i think the size & richness qualifies this to be called Texas Brownies! Speaking of size - this recipe made TWO jelly roll pans (so i doubled the frosting) - i was afraid of a big mess if i only used one pan. So wonderful & made enough to share with friends & freeze some for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States