Texas Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe only problem was it had more of a cake consistency so we were kinda disapointed but other then that it was great! Very tasty and the frostings wonderful! Never going back to the canned stuff again!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I don't like supermoist, chewy brownies. By the picture that went with this recipe, I knew I was going to make something more cake-like. The cinnamon/vanilla flavor was a nice twist on the chocolate flavor. What you call these is a matter of perspective. Here in Venezuela, brownies are moist but cakelike, and cakes are terribly dry. Whatever you want to call these, they're moist and sweet enough for me, and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I gave this 3 stars, not because it wasn't good, but because the title is somewhat misleading, as many others have said. The definition of "brownie" in my cooking dictionary states: "Brownie: A cake-like cookie, usually containing chocolate, and often covered with nuts." This recipe isn't "cake-like", it IS cake. I guess I'm just used to Texas Sheet Cake in its usual, thinner form. A 9 x 13 pan makes a tall mouthful. I also prefer the TSC chocolate frosting that is prepared in a saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Not good. Sorry. Might be a fine chocolate cake, but there are better recipes for that out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I actually baked these in muffin tins and put cream cheese icing on them. I'd thought they would bake up flat like a brownie, but they looked just like cupcakes. Took them into work and now I'm expected to start bringing in cupcakes regularly. I just can't figure out the texture. Too dry for a brownie, but too dense for cupcake. Whatever, it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
A wonderful CAKE recipe. Not brownies. If it were baked in a large jelly roll pan it would be more like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The outside was hard and very chewy, and the ingredients did not mix, so I had clumps. It also has no flavor whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Like many other reviews said this is more of a cake than brownie. The edges get crisp and brownie like, but the middle is definitely cake like. I didn't have buttermilk and just used skim milk instead, and it turned out fine (maybe this is the reason for the cake like consistency, but maybe not). The cinnamon is a nice touch for a different flavor. I made this with the Texas Frosting as recommended. This was great for a chocolate fix and fairly easy to make, just not brownie enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Did not like the combination of cinn with choc..I even reduced the cinn to 1/2 tsp. Just not what we liked. I also tried coffee instead of water for more choc taste. I only gave 3 stars because this is not brownies, it is cake and I was looking for brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
More of a cake than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States