Texas Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I leave out the cinnamon and use strong brewed coffee instead of water. Excellent brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCY JAMESON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I think I am addicted to these. I bake them ALL THE TIME! I love the combination of chocolate and cinnamon. And they have a very nice chocolate taste, which surprised me, since there is so little cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Really moist and delicious but nothing like a brownie. This is a basic chocolate cake but a really good one. I recommend this. I can't tell you how moist this was. A substitute for buttermilk is regular milk with a 1/2 teas. of white vinegar added. I used this instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Very good and very moist. If you want brownies, this is more like a cake. It was chocolately enough for me but still a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This is actually called "Texas Sheetcake" where I'm from (Austin). I've also seen it called California sheetcake. You can put it in cookie sheet and make the cake pieces thin (which seem like brownies, I guess). Oprah had a version of it on her website once but it didn't have the cinnamon. It's great with the special frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Well, perhaps I don't know the meaning of the word 'brownie' - but it tasted like a brownie to me. I loved these, they have a nice vanilla flavour that compliments the chocolate and cinnemon. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
A wonderful CAKE recipe. Not brownies. If it were baked in a large jelly roll pan it would be more like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I don't like supermoist, chewy brownies. By the picture that went with this recipe, I knew I was going to make something more cake-like. The cinnamon/vanilla flavor was a nice twist on the chocolate flavor. What you call these is a matter of perspective. Here in Venezuela, brownies are moist but cakelike, and cakes are terribly dry. Whatever you want to call these, they're moist and sweet enough for me, and taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This brownie is exceptionally easy and quick. It has more of the consistency of cake than a brownie, but is very moist, not too sweet, airy, and delicious with a cup of coffee or a glass of millk. Great for a little quiet time treat for yourself !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe only problem was it had more of a cake consistency so we were kinda disapointed but other then that it was great! Very tasty and the frostings wonderful! Never going back to the canned stuff again!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States