Texas Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
This brownie is exceptionally easy and quick. It has more of the consistency of cake than a brownie, but is very moist, not too sweet, airy, and delicious with a cup of coffee or a glass of millk. Great for a little quiet time treat for yourself !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
I leave out the cinnamon and use strong brewed coffee instead of water. Excellent brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCY JAMESON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I think I am addicted to these. I bake them ALL THE TIME! I love the combination of chocolate and cinnamon. And they have a very nice chocolate taste, which surprised me, since there is so little cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Very nice cake--but definitely not a brownie. Next time I'll double the cocoa as it is not very chocolaty. The frosting was quite tasty. I melted the butter in the microwave and then stirred the powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk in with a wooden spoon. It had a nice, melt-in-your-mouth texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Really moist and delicious but nothing like a brownie. This is a basic chocolate cake but a really good one. I recommend this. I can't tell you how moist this was. A substitute for buttermilk is regular milk with a 1/2 teas. of white vinegar added. I used this instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made these for Super Bowl and we were all a bit disappointed in them. Nothing like brownies! It made a moist cake, but the flavor was weak, almost like I had omitted something or done something wrong. (I bake a great deal, however I did double-check myself and to the best of my knowledge, followed the directions exactly.) The chocolate flavor wasn't very strong at all, and was almost over powered by the cinnamon. In my opinion it needs more cocoa powder, and possibly some other adjustments. If you are looking for a fudgy brownie or a texas-style chocolate cake, this isn't it! The frosting was very good, however I had to add more milk to make it thin enough to pour/spread over the cake and everyone agreed the frosting was the best part!! I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Very good and very moist. If you want brownies, this is more like a cake. It was chocolately enough for me but still a very good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This is actually called "Texas Sheetcake" where I'm from (Austin). I've also seen it called California sheetcake. You can put it in cookie sheet and make the cake pieces thin (which seem like brownies, I guess). Oprah had a version of it on her website once but it didn't have the cinnamon. It's great with the special frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Definitely agree with other reviewers that this is not brownie...it is cake! I thought it was OK. Easy. Husband liked though. I think I will continue to look for other such recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Well, perhaps I don't know the meaning of the word 'brownie' - but it tasted like a brownie to me. I loved these, they have a nice vanilla flavour that compliments the chocolate and cinnemon. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States