Texas Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
Very good! I did make a few changes ro the recipe, most notably that 2 1/2 C of liquid looked very inadequate in the bottom of my 6-qt. slow cooker, so I ended up using 3 whole cans of beef broth + 1 C water. With that, 1 can of spicy V8 was still plenty hot enough to give me a little heartburn (and I love spicy foods.) I also used frozen mixed veggies instead of canned, and an hour before the end of the cooking time I added the V8, 2 cubed potatoes, and a can of diced tomatoes. P.S. I just made this for the second time using 2 lbs. of meat and more seasoned salt/pepper and I AM IN LOVE with this recipe! Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This soup was mmm-mmm good! I'm giving it five stars, although I did make quite a few changes. First, I used fresh vegetables -- celery & carrots -- plus a can of corn, drained, and a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I doubled the amount of beef broth, added 4 tablespoons of garlic, and added Acini di pepe (soup pasta). I made some buttermilk biscuits, and the family loved this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This is a keeper! Instead of canned veggies, I added fresh carrots (chopped), frozen corn, and frozen peas (I do not care for canned veggies). I also added a bit more beef broth than it called for (used 2 cans). Finally, I cooked some shell noodles and threw them in the last few minutes (the kids like soup with noodles). This turned out delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Outta this world good! We loved this!! It reminded me of the good stews that we brew when we are up north at the cabin during the fall! Will save this recipe for just such a time! I didn't measure out a TBLS of season salt - just added liberally until it "looked" right. Also, during the last half hour when you add the V8 "spicy hot" juice & mixed veggies, I added a handful of macaroni noodles. 30 minutes later, this soup was great! Thanks for sharing this one Kim! Its a keeper for this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I thought this was pretty good. I also used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned. I think if you had salty soup, reconsider the broth you are using. I ALWAYS use "Better than Buillon" which I find to be significantly less salty than most broths and certainly better than any buillon (which always have lots of salt and MSG).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was great. I think the V8 juice made the difference. I made a double batch and served one as the recipe and the other half, I made into a stew by adding cubed potatoes, celery and some flour to thicken the broth. Both were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Very tasty and so easy - I just threw in a mix frozen veges rather than canned - kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I thought it was good and it was very easy to make, but the other 5 members of my family didn't care much for it. They're spoiled by my original beef vegetable soup recipe that takes alot more work and uses fresh ingredients instead of canned vegetables. Otherwise, this is a good and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used frozen mixed veggies in place of the canned. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I've not had a lot of luck with slow cooker recipes, but this is one I'll make again. The rich beef broth is enhanced by using seasoned salt and the Spicy V-8 juice gives it just a little zing. I used frozen mixed veggies and added one chopped potato but otherwise followed the recipe. Very nice soup even for a hot August day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States