Texas BBQ Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The ingredients in this recipe made the sauce very tasty but it was too runny. My family didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Super easy and delicious! My fiance' thinks I'm a genius! I tweaked it a little with using Sweet Baby Rays and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEiermann2012

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was good, I modified it a little because I didn't have tomato-vegetable juice, so I used bbq sauce. I didn't get the caramelization probably because I didn't put in the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I make this in the crock pot and then shred it and put it on hoagies with cheese and sliced onion. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I wished I had read the reviews first and made alterations. The sauce is indeed to watery, so omit the water, but the color was also not appealing...tasted fabulous though! I was looking for a darker color. Mixed with white rice, it looks a little bland. Three stars on presentation, four starts on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This sauce was way too thin. Gave the chicken a bloody/raw look. Pretty gross. I followed the recipe exactly except omitted the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yum!! My husband and I used this recipe to make BBQ chicken sandwiches. Really, all you needed was some buns because the chicken and sauce were incredible! We added a bit of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce in the last couple minutes of cooking as another reviewer suggested - yum oh! With the left overs we made homemade BBQ chicken pizza. We used the sauce as a sub for marinara, added some red onion and mexican mix shredded cheese and the result was delish! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I thought this recipe would be amazing but I didn't enjoy it at all. It didn't taste anything like barbecue, the sauce/mix was runny (even after cooking) and overall I was really disappointed. And, for those wanting to try this (which I personally wouldn't recommend), I would double the cooking time. The chicken was nowhere near done for me. It was worth a try, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great marinade for chicken! I used 4 split chicken breasts for this and made the marinade a little thicker. I doubled the brown sugar and the worcestershire and omitted the water. I used white wine vinegar instead of distilled because it's milder and only 1/2 cup of V8. Whenever I see ketchup in a marinade I always substitute chili sauce as a rule of thumb because it provides that little extra kick. I let the chicken marinate overnight and finished it on the grill. You can even baste it with a bit of your favorite BBQ sauce towards the end if you want it extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was such an easy recipe to make. we have 6 kids and they are picky lil eaters and everyone of them came back for seconds. It was VERY TASTY! I recomend trying this! I made it with fruit salsa, cinnamon chips, and pilaf rice, a nice combo and light on the stomach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States