Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Love this soup! The only changes I made since I had to use what I had on hand was subbed out the tomato soup and boullion cubes for a 6oz can of tomato paste and the leftover turkey stock and gravy from when I roasted the turkey. Amazingly good! I'm a fan of cilantro, so that was perfect added on top with the shredded cheese and sour cream. Oh, I didn't add the sour cream in the soup as I was making it either. Just on top after it was done :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I had to substitute some of the ingredients for what I had but I absolutely loved the results! I'm so glad to have come across this recipe tonight! I thought I had thawed out turkey but because it wasn't labeled it ended up being pork. I didn't have tomato soup, so I watered down tomato sauce. I free poured the spices and probably used more onions and garlic than called for. I will use this one again. Loved the mix of the sour cream and cilantro, next time though, I will add some lime juice to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I loved this receipe. I added a can of diced green chilies and used a drained can of corn instead of the frozen. Other than that I followed the receipe. My husband added hot sauce to his cause he likes his spicy, I added sour cream and shredded cheddar to mine and the kids cause we don't. It is definately on our do over list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Made it exactly as written, wasn't too bad, could use a bit more flavour. Maybe more cumin next time. Great way to use up leftover turkey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
It was pretty darn good. Will make again. I added more of the same spices and used chicken stock instead of water. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Family and friends keep asking for this soup and the recipe. I make a turkey broth to use instead of water. As well always make a big batch of it for enjoyment during our long Canadian winter. Easy on the sodium. Thanks J. Berkhout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very good, even my non soup eaters liked it! I did leave out salsa because my jar was empty :( Next time I will try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This soup is amazing and I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My aunt sent me this recipe after we hosted Thanksgiving and had tons of turkey left over. I made a change to it the first time, but it was one of the best soups I've ever tasted. The change I made was to use salsa verde (the green salsa) instead of regular salsa, since we didn't have any on hand. The rest of the ingredients were already in our kitchen. The second time around, I used regular mild salsa, a large can of crushed tomatoes, and instead of chicken flavoring used a beef soup base dissolved in water, where I had used the chicken soup base before. It was a different flavor, but still very good. I also used browned ground turkey the second time, since the leftovers were long gone. It was great! You can probably use chicken or browned ground beef as well. I'm going to also try it with pork loin if I have leftovers. On the side this time, I melted a little cheddar cheese on top of a plate of tortila chips and sprinkle that with cumin and chili powder. We used those to dip into the soup. It was so good as something to add a little crunch. This recipe is staying in my recipe box and also getting printed out so I always have it. You can used kidney beans in it as well. I guess I made more changes than I thought! The cilantro I used was dried, so I just sprinkled it in without measuring. The important thing is that it's so versatile that as long as you stick with the basic seasonings and water proportions, you can't go wrong no matter what you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used chicken stock instead of the water w/bullion and I used diced fire-roasted tomatoes for some kick and it was perfect. I am considering making a batch for my work and my husband's. Will definitely do this again next year - and, if I can't wait, I will use a pre-roasted chicken from my local grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States