Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
A good dish for spicing up leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very tasty but I only gave 4 stars because I doubled the spices, corn, black beans and cilantro. I think it would've been missing something without at least doubling the spices and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was really, really good! My husband almost ate 3 bowls. Had only half of the diced tomatoes so I used Rotel which worked fine. I think it's the addition of the sour cream that really makes it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
One of the yummiest soups I have ever had! 5 stars are an understatement. Highly recommend! Update: The salsa that you use in this soup will determine whether this soup is awesome or just ok, so use your favourite salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Easy, lasted for many meals, and tasted great! I thought it was more of a stew than a soup, especially with the chips in at the end. It was chili, tomato soup, and brunswick stew all in one. We enjoyed it with grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAprati

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I also made stock from the Thanksgiving carcass - and didn't have tomatoes so used all salsa. This is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic! I was skeptical when I saw the tomato soup and diced tomatoes since I am not fond of tomato soup. I didn't have the diced tomatoes anyway, so I used tomato sauce and it was fine. I had no cilantro, but decided to use some diced green chilies instead. This gave it a little more zip. And best of all...my husband raved over it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was amazing. I admit to altering the recipe a bit due to ingredients. Instead of the bouillon and water, I used 2 1/2 cups of low sodium chicken broth that I had leftover from thanksgiving. I also added a can of white kidney beans to it and used canned corn instead of frozen. I put everything in the crockpot for a few hours to simmer. I didn't add the sour cream to the soup - I let everyone just add it as a topping if they wished. This was a very welcome change from the typical turkey leftovers and sandwiches. I will definitely make it again! Thanks for the wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! Made a bunch, my family loved it and ate well, and I had leftovers for lunch for two days. Crushed chips and sour cream on top are a must. I added a pureed chipotle pepper in adobo sauce for smoky spiciness. I also happened to have a zucchini, so diced it up and added it towards the end. I wouldn't recommend adding the turkey until the very end, as mine was already cooked and didn't want to overcook it. But really this recipe is delicious as is and I wouldn't hesitate to make it again without my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I spiced it up with Cayenne pepper and a bit of salt, but all in all, this was delicious! Great way to use leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States