Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I came across this amazing recipe while looking for something to make w/leftover turkey from Xmas. I boiled the turkey carcass and used the stock instead of water-but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. It was absolutley fantastic and my husband loved it too. I actually made a double batch and we ate it for a week w/o getting sick of it. Top it w/cheese or sourcream...Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
A busy day winner! I made this in 10-15 minutes, put it in the crockpot on hi and served 2 hours later. I have a smaller crockpot, so added only 1/2 the corn and skipped the tomato soup. I intended to add some tomato paste if it was too thin, but it was not needed. The cheese, sour cream and crushed tacos were perfect. It was a hit with my family - everyone wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I am so glad I discovered this recipe when searching for a turkey soup recipe to use up the leftover Xmas turkey. It was awesome! Very simple to make and it was super tasty. We had some friends over for dinner and everyone loved it so much that we all had at least seconds! I followed the recipe pretty closely except I was out of cumin so I used cayenne pepper. I also used Italian diced tomatoes and fiesta tomato soup instead of plain diced tomatoes and tomato soup. I will definitely make this again especially when we have leftover turkey. It is much better than plain old turkey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was wonderful. I used a smoked bone in turkey breast which added a whole dimension to the soup. I didn't have corn so I added diced green pepper. I also added 2 tsps of my homemade chili powder mix and 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp oregano. My hubby loved it as he had a cold and he could still taste this delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very good. It wasn't very spicy though, so I added a jalapeno pepper and some extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Meidinger

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This turned out okay although there was a lot leftover so I don't think it was a huge hit with the family. I subbed chicken which was good in this dish. I used a 14-1/2 oz. can of diced tomotoes and think the larger can would be far too much. Pretty much followed as written otherwise. I think it was very "tomatoey" which may have been why the kids didn't go for seconds. Topping it with cheese and sour cream do help tone that down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Just okay. I used a double batch of Bill Echols taco seasoning (cutting way back on the salt and chili pepper)and instead of using water and bouillion cubes, I used low sodium chicken broth. I also added the cilantro to the soup about 15 minutes before serving and added a couple tbsp. of fresh lime juice. The condensed soup added a nice creamy flavor and thickened up the soup just enough. This was easily adapted for the crockpot and was a nice inviting smell after a long, cold day. Great with Amusement Park Cornbread and a nice cold Dos Equis. My only issue with this is my family didn't care for it. This makes quite a bit for one person to eat on her own, unless you freeze it in lunch sized portions. Be sure your family likes taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Thanks to my daughter, Leanne, my husband and I got to try this very excellent soup. It is also very nutritious. Would recommend it to everyone. I'm sure this would be equally as good with chicken (in place of turkey). I could eat it morning, noon and night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was great! I kept it low fat and left out the cheese and cream and it was great. I also got more servings the out of a batch then suggested. It reminds me of one of the name brand's "southwestern" soup I eat a lot of. I can't wait till the day after thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
OMG SOO GOOD!! EVERYONE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT, EVEN MY STUBORN HUSBAND, MY 2 YR OLD DAUGHTER EVEN LOVED IT. I WOULDN'T CHANGE A THING! PERFECT FOR LEFTOVER TURKEY, THE TURKEY MOST DEFINATELY WON'T GO TO WASTE IN THIS SOUP. THIS IS A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States