Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I am so glad I discovered this recipe when searching for a turkey soup recipe to use up the leftover Xmas turkey. It was awesome! Very simple to make and it was super tasty. We had some friends over for dinner and everyone loved it so much that we all had at least seconds! I followed the recipe pretty closely except I was out of cumin so I used cayenne pepper. I also used Italian diced tomatoes and fiesta tomato soup instead of plain diced tomatoes and tomato soup. I will definitely make this again especially when we have leftover turkey. It is much better than plain old turkey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very good. It wasn't very spicy though, so I added a jalapeno pepper and some extra cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashley, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Delicious!! (And easy, too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I came across this amazing recipe while looking for something to make w/leftover turkey from Xmas. I boiled the turkey carcass and used the stock instead of water-but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. It was absolutley fantastic and my husband loved it too. I actually made a double batch and we ate it for a week w/o getting sick of it. Top it w/cheese or sourcream...Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Excellent! I made this tonight and was blown away. I will be passing bowls out to my nieghbors and friends tomorrow. I cannot wait until after Thanksgiving next year, just so I can make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Thanks to my daughter, Leanne, my husband and I got to try this very excellent soup. It is also very nutritious. Would recommend it to everyone. I'm sure this would be equally as good with chicken (in place of turkey). I could eat it morning, noon and night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was great! I kept it low fat and left out the cheese and cream and it was great. I also got more servings the out of a batch then suggested. It reminds me of one of the name brand's "southwestern" soup I eat a lot of. I can't wait till the day after thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This turned out okay although there was a lot leftover so I don't think it was a huge hit with the family. I subbed chicken which was good in this dish. I used a 14-1/2 oz. can of diced tomotoes and think the larger can would be far too much. Pretty much followed as written otherwise. I think it was very "tomatoey" which may have been why the kids didn't go for seconds. Topping it with cheese and sour cream do help tone that down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great recipe - my husband and I enjoyed it with some leftover turkey plus some cooked chicken (didn't quite have enough turkey). Very good on a cold winter day in Michigan. We don't like spice so we left out the chili powder. Otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. We loved it but next time we'll make it for company because it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oscoda, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Tawas, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is a great 'tortilla' soup...perfect for getting rid of turkey leftovers, but keeps a very tex-mex flavor. Keeps well in a crock pot for potluck-get-togethers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinckeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States