Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was delicious. My family loved it. I had leftover chicken broth from Thanksgiving so I used that instead of water and chicken cubes. I had tomato sauce and not tomato soup. And I prefer pinto beans instead of black beans. Those were the only changes I made. This was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
VERY good! I looked for a recipe for our leftover turkey and was not disapponted with this soup! Lots of flavor and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent soup; great way to use up leftover turkey. Would be tasty with chicken as well. I did not have cilantro or parsley on hand, and it was still yummy. We substituted fresh tomatoes for canned. Delicious; I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Looking for something a little different than typical Turkey Frame Soup with leftover Thanksgiving turkey. I had to half it for the three of us, but now wish I had not. Really good. Since we all love beans of all kinds, I used a full can of black beans and didn't have any cilantro, so I skipped that and used close to a 1/2 cup of sour cream (because we love it) and it turned out absolutely perfect. Ended up serving with homemade nachos. There is not a drop left! We will certainly do this again and again. Since we don't have turkey all that often, next time will likely be chicken. Just excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this with a few of my own changes (omitted the condensed soup, used a mexican seasoning blend instead of chili powder and added freshly roasted chili peppers). The recipe used as a base was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious soup and great way to use up Thanksgiving turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Meh. This was so bland. I ended up throwing the whole batch out. My family didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very good, a great way to use up leftover turkey, though this recipe would be good with chicken too. Giving this soup a Tex-Mex spin was brilliant, quite an improvement from another turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I actually found this recipe not initially on this site, but published in my local newspaper the other day (they did, of course, mention that the source was allrecipes.com). I'm sure it is quite delicious as written, but I made a few changes due to the ingredients I had on hand and to use up another. I did not use condensed tomato soup, but rather tomatoe juice as I did not have the soup on hand. I also used dried rather than fresh cilantro. I threw in about 1 1/2 c. of leftover cooked rice. I found the soup needed a bit more seasoning so I increased the chili powder, oregano and cumin by one half. Served with the same toppings as listed, but again, with the dried cilantro. Very good, hearty soup and a great way to use up that leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States