Tex-Mex Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe a year ago; it was amazing. I am so glad I was able to find it again and this time, I am going to save it. I skipped the tortilla chips and the sour cream, it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great way to use the leftover turkey. I made a few changes that made it a real winner. I added a cup more turkey and an additional can of black beans to make it heartier. Also, I used 4 cups of chicken stock instead of the bullion and water. I diced fresh tomatoes in the blender instead of using the canned tomato. Two tablespoons more of chili powder and a teaspoon more of cumin really spiced it up. A squeeze of fresh lime and twice the amount of garlic heightened the flavors. I left out the sour cream to keep the calories down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was a decent recipe. I used Neufchâtel cheese (2oz.) instead of sour cream. And added some cayenne pepper and extra oregano. Needed extra spice. Might add a jalapeño next time. Note, without the toppings it's only about 220 cal per cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very great soup which everyone loved... it was also a great way to use that left over thanksgiving turkey... I made it like the recipe stated but thought it was a little plain so I added a pinch of ground red peppers and black pepper.... everyone loved the soup though!! thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Great recipe - tweeked a bit. Added 1 can of concentrated cheese soup, substituted chicken broth for the water, increased the amount of garlic, cumin and chili powder, blended the salasa & tomatoes before adding and added noodles at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was very good. It had a really fresh, authentic taste. Only changes was I left out the oregano and only used half if the black beans because my husband hates them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by positiveenergee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Unbelievable! This recipe was SO good! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Love it. I made it at Thanksgiving and used many fresh things from the garden - oregano, hot peppers, abd parsley - knowing that the days of having fresh food are numbered. I also added a few fresh, chopped tomatoes. Finally, I used turkey broth in place of the water and left out the boullion cubes. The fresh hot peppers give it a real 'bite'. I did not use the sour cream and certainly don't feel that it is necesary. Other than that I followed the recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My husband loved this. I wasn't quite as impressed, but I think it was user error and not the fault of the recipe: I used defrosted leftover turkey in this soup, and I think it had just sat in the freezer too long and was past its prime. I want to try this again with fresh(er) turkey, because the flavor base was really, really nice. The cilantro and green salsa were a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good as written. One of the best soups for turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States