Tex-Mex Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this as written except I used chili powder instead of cumin and green olives instead of black. I ate it over lettuce but not in taco shells. It was good as a salad but I think it would be pretty bad as a taco
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe that was pretty filling. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
A great variation on the usual Tuna Salad. To give it a little more "elegance" and less runny-ness, be sure you use well drained solid Albacore, and salsa that you make yourself. If you use some normal commercial salsa, you can expect the results to be watery & sloppy. If you make a nice chunky salsa, you can use this over bread slices or on crackers. I would also heartily recommend this warm over pasta, or in a cold pasta salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jfpOne23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
While I was preparing this I had pretty much already determined that it was going to be inedible... the salsa/sour cream/tuna mixture looked so odd and unappetizing. However, the cumin totally brought all the flavors together and a dollop of sour cream on top was a yummy addition. This was a great, quick lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This is pretty good - I'm having it on tortilla chips right now. It needed a bit of tweaking: 1/2 tsp salt and pepper each, and I added another 1/4 cup of sour cream to make it a little more spreadable. I used fat free sour cream for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
what a great recipe had my family try it nothing but rave reviews would make again. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Different from usual tuna salad sndwich. I added some green chilles I had on hand. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I work at a hospital and we made this salad to sell in the cafe' and wow people really loved it! We did the tuna mix is a cold salad served on chips (more like a tuna taco salad). This salad has great flavor! We have added it our menue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Just OK! These were as quick and easy to make as Tuna Helper and the result was tastier. Good for a quick meal and probably good for you too, however the end result is a tuna taco and that's just not great. Be sure the tuna is very well drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I love recipes that other reviews say they were scared to try but did and it was great. --Stay scared---I don't know what to say. This wasn't inedible but wasn't good. No one in my family really liked this. We used our favoirte salsa but this still lacked something. This might be okay on a hot hot day when you want something light. This wasn't filling nor was it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States