Tex-Mex Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was a very good recipe although kindof time consuming to make. My son thought it was too spicy but it was a great recipe for the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Markie McMinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe for using up garden zucchini! I made a few adjustments - added 2 jalapeno peppers, used less olive oil and a lot more cumin. Otherwise followed recipe. Will make again but next time, I probably won't put it in the oven since I think it is great just as a stir fry. Great with diced tomatoes and lots of fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I really liked this.. I used ground turkey and probably more zucchini than the recipe called for. I forgot the corn and topped this with a mexican cheese blend. I have some leftovers so it hink I will put them in wraps and have them for work lunches next week. Made this again...almost 3 years later, Subbed hominy for corn and used chicken,. Stll delish. I like that it doesnt use a lot of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
What a great way to use some of the extra squash from the garden! On top of that the taste was great also. Easy to make recipe and the flavors blend well. Must say the left overs were outstanding the next day both cold and warmed. Thanks for the wonderful easy meal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve-mac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was very good, and I'd certainly make it again. I found that I needed to add liquid to the pan several times. I had a bit of vegetable broth that I added while sauteing the vegetables and then when I added the tomato paste I needed to mix in some water. Even with the addition of liquid, it still was a bit dry after baking. I think next time I'll use a can of Rotel with the juices instead of the tomato paste. All in all, this recipe is easily adaptable to your liking and we all enjoyed it served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tex-Mex Squash Bake Haiku: "I made this in half. And swapped out Parmesan too. Didn't think it'd jive." For the flavors going into this, I was skeptical about using Parmesan, so I went with a Mexi-blend of shredded cheese instead. Halving the recipe (using black bean) made an ideal amount, but it got a bit dry in the oven, without having any moisture (diced tomatoes or tomato sauce, maybe?) It tasted good, and I was happy to use a pile of zucchini that my garden recently exploded with, but I think next time I'll just let it warm in the skillet mixed together and just let cheese melt on top at serving. Oh and it was nummy to scoop it up with a blob of salsa onto a tortilla chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was one of those nights where "I have w, x, y, and z to use up... let's see if I can find a recipe to use them all." Often those experiments turn out *meh*, but this was a pleasant surprise! OK, I admit I made quite a few tweaks, but I think I kept the 'essence' of the recipe the same. It turned out great! As written, I think there is far too much chili powder, especially considering the jalapeno (I used some roasted medium/hot hatch chilies, which were great with a decent amount of kick). I used about 1.5 teaspoons of chili powder and 1.5 teaspoons of cumin, which balanced with the other chilies was great for my taste preferences. I did need quite a bit of salt though. I used three zucchini which I would call 'average' size which equaled about 8 cups of chopped. I was a bit worried that this would make it a "zucchini with a little bit of other stuff" dish, but the ratios actually turned out great. I also used two ears of fresh corn, 4 cups of black beans (no kidney), yellow onion instead of green, green instead of red pepper, can of diced tomatoes instead of paste, and shredded mex cheese because that's what I had on hand. I didn't bake it, but served it up chili style with a dollop of sour cream and tortilla chips to dip. Mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Just made this recipe.LOVE IT! I did use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was awesome! Took awhile to make but my kids loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Mmm. Perfect amounts of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States