Tex-Mex Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was a very good recipe although kindof time consuming to make. My son thought it was too spicy but it was a great recipe for the adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I really liked this.. I used ground turkey and probably more zucchini than the recipe called for. I forgot the corn and topped this with a mexican cheese blend. I have some leftovers so it hink I will put them in wraps and have them for work lunches next week. Made this again...almost 3 years later, Subbed hominy for corn and used chicken,. Stll delish. I like that it doesnt use a lot of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
What a great way to use some of the extra squash from the garden! On top of that the taste was great also. Easy to make recipe and the flavors blend well. Must say the left overs were outstanding the next day both cold and warmed. Thanks for the wonderful easy meal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve-mac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe for using up garden zucchini! I made a few adjustments - added 2 jalapeno peppers, used less olive oil and a lot more cumin. Otherwise followed recipe. Will make again but next time, I probably won't put it in the oven since I think it is great just as a stir fry. Great with diced tomatoes and lots of fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I thought this was a great recipe. I have an abundance of zucchini from my garden and this was a perfect way to use it up. I made it as written, except I forgot the garlic (will definitely include that next time), and I didn't have cilantro...but I served it up with fresh diced tomatoes on top after it was done cooking and my husband and two small children both loved it! Next time I'll add an extra jalapeno for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tex-Mex Squash Bake Haiku: "I made this in half. And swapped out Parmesan too. Didn't think it'd jive." For the flavors going into this, I was skeptical about using Parmesan, so I went with a Mexi-blend of shredded cheese instead. Halving the recipe (using black bean) made an ideal amount, but it got a bit dry in the oven, without having any moisture (diced tomatoes or tomato sauce, maybe?) It tasted good, and I was happy to use a pile of zucchini that my garden recently exploded with, but I think next time I'll just let it warm in the skillet mixed together and just let cheese melt on top at serving. Oh and it was nummy to scoop it up with a blob of salsa onto a tortilla chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Mmm. Perfect amounts of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was awesome! Took awhile to make but my kids loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Just made this recipe.LOVE IT! I did use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was very good, and I'd certainly make it again. I found that I needed to add liquid to the pan several times. I had a bit of vegetable broth that I added while sauteing the vegetables and then when I added the tomato paste I needed to mix in some water. Even with the addition of liquid, it still was a bit dry after baking. I think next time I'll use a can of Rotel with the juices instead of the tomato paste. All in all, this recipe is easily adaptable to your liking and we all enjoyed it served over quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States