Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious! More than 5 stars in my book. I also added 1 seeded and diced jalepeno for a little extra heat. Loved the freshness of the lime juice and cilantro which I think is key in this dish. The creaminess of the avacado also adds another level. Will be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This salad is so tasty and refreshing! I don't usually like cold salads but this was terrific. I replaced cotija with queso fresco and held the cilantro. It will stay good in the fridge for 1 day only so don't make too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Mmmmm good! Didn't have the avocados or cheese, but loved it anyway. Would like a hundred more recipes this delicous and healthy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I've made this twice and can eat the whole bowl all by myself. It's really fresh tasting even though it uses 2 canned items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
LOVE this! I used black beans instead of garbanzo and didn't hold back with the cheese . . . used the whole package! I was short on quinoa so used 1/2 quinoa and 1/2 couscous and it was still great. Will make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Outstanding! I forgot to buy cotija cheese, so I compensated by simply salting the salad to my taste. I also added some minced garlic - nothing beats the mixture of cilantro, lime and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this according to directions..with one substitution..I could not find the cotija cheese so I used panella which is a crumbly farmers cheese. I also served this cold with butter lettuce in the form of a lettuce wrap..my vegetarian dinner guest devoured it and asked for the recipe. Another winner thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Outstanding! My substitutions: panela cheese, 1 avocado, fresh tomatoes, canned roasted chiles, black beans, and some fresh yellow bell pepper. Was great with chips & salsa, and in a salad with baby greens and a creamy lime-cilantro dressing I concocted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
So good - I did change up a bit to my taste. Used 2 fresh tomatoes, black beans and about 4 green onions. I just squirted the juice of 2 limes in and also added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I didnt add any cheese. This was just delicious and I bet its delicious as is - I just cant help myself and end up changing things around a bit ;-) ETA: I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth and added serrano and jalapeno pepper and some frozen sweet corn (just toss in the bowl frozen) - soooo good! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
WOW! Everyone I served this too LOVED it and loved how different it was for quinoa with the rotel. My mother who I have been trying to convert to using quinoa is now on the bandwagon after trying this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States