Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious! More than 5 stars in my book. I also added 1 seeded and diced jalepeno for a little extra heat. Loved the freshness of the lime juice and cilantro which I think is key in this dish. The creaminess of the avacado also adds another level. Will be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Outstanding! I forgot to buy cotija cheese, so I compensated by simply salting the salad to my taste. I also added some minced garlic - nothing beats the mixture of cilantro, lime and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This salad is so tasty and refreshing! I don't usually like cold salads but this was terrific. I replaced cotija with queso fresco and held the cilantro. It will stay good in the fridge for 1 day only so don't make too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Mmmmm good! Didn't have the avocados or cheese, but loved it anyway. Would like a hundred more recipes this delicous and healthy. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I made this according to directions..with one substitution..I could not find the cotija cheese so I used panella which is a crumbly farmers cheese. I also served this cold with butter lettuce in the form of a lettuce wrap..my vegetarian dinner guest devoured it and asked for the recipe. Another winner thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Perfect for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I've made this twice and can eat the whole bowl all by myself. It's really fresh tasting even though it uses 2 canned items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris p.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
LOVE this! I used black beans instead of garbanzo and didn't hold back with the cheese . . . used the whole package! I was short on quinoa so used 1/2 quinoa and 1/2 couscous and it was still great. Will make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Outstanding! My substitutions: panela cheese, 1 avocado, fresh tomatoes, canned roasted chiles, black beans, and some fresh yellow bell pepper. Was great with chips & salsa, and in a salad with baby greens and a creamy lime-cilantro dressing I concocted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I liked it. Next time no avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States