Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was my first venture with Quinoa, and it was delicious! I added a chicken boullion to flavor the Quinoa itself, and since other readers complained it was mushy, I cooked it only the 20 minutes til it was al dente. The texture was perfect and seemed to be just as good the next day. I was out of garbanzo beans, so I had to pass on that. I only had stems of cilantro left from dinner last night, so I chopped those fine, didn't have the cheese, added avocado, garlic, onion and fresh tomatoes. It is really good! I would recommend people who are shy about trying Quinoa to use this recipe! And... it's good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I made this yesterday and ate it tonight for dinner. It was so good. I added some ingredients, I added a couple chopped scallions, a TBS minced garlic, and a can of black beans as well as the garbanzo beans. I loved it I will probably add a little more lime juice but that's because I like it a little more limey. I did not add the avacado because I do not like it and I went to 2 different stores and no one had cojita cheese so I got feta cheese instead. I will definiely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I am a huge quinoa fan, and I'm always looking for new healthy recipes. This is a great one, and I will definitely make it again! I made a few changes: using fresh tomato and jalapeno, feta cheese, parsley instead of cilantro, and adding a bit of red onion. The taste of lime juice makes this salad very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Used this as taco filling, hubby LOVED it. No cilantro and used cheddar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe! It's very hearty. The cotija cheese makes a great salty topping and the cilantro is a nice flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
WOW! Everyone I served this too LOVED it and loved how different it was for quinoa with the rotel. My mother who I have been trying to convert to using quinoa is now on the bandwagon after trying this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
So good - I did change up a bit to my taste. Used 2 fresh tomatoes, black beans and about 4 green onions. I just squirted the juice of 2 limes in and also added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I didnt add any cheese. This was just delicious and I bet its delicious as is - I just cant help myself and end up changing things around a bit ;-) ETA: I cooked the quinoa in veggie broth and added serrano and jalapeno pepper and some frozen sweet corn (just toss in the bowl frozen) - soooo good! Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Good, but a little too spicy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was okay, but a little too spicy for my taste. I didn't have any avocados, since my family doesn't care for them, so i didn't put any in. The salad was very easy to make, but it isn't something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Perfectly refreshing and tangy. I start craving it when I haven't had it in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States