Tex-Mex Quinoa Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Super delicious, and vegan friendly w/changes. No cheese, no canned tomatoes/garbanzos. Added: fresh tomatoes, 1tsp diced jalapeno, 1/2 can black beans (drained/rinsed), 1/2c chopped fresh spinach. Doubled lime juice, and added 1 clove minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I've read some reviews from people who haven't liked quinoa, that's it's too mushy, etc. I used to agree! Now, every time I make quinoa, I first soak it for a while, then I boil the water, and put the quinoa in the boiling water. It makes all the difference - try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I followed another reader's suggestion, and did this as lettuce wraps. We ditched the avocado because we don't care for it, used fresh tomatoes in place of canned, and added a few cucumbers and some fresh mint. Also cooked the quinoa in chicken broth, and added a teaspoon of fiesta lime seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
5 stars for how healthy this is and the great flavor combination, I'm giving it 4 stars because the canned tomatoes and chilies and the amount of lime juice tends to make this a bit liquidy. I think fresh tomatoes and jalapenos would work best, and next time I'll just sprinkle the lime juice to taste. overall a really nice dish that I'll make with a few changes that suit my tastes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe! Thank you! I've been looking for good quinoa recipes to use the giant container of it that we got from Costco. Used fresh tomatoes and feta cheese. Added a kick with cayenne and cumin. Served over greens. Looking forward to leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I put in feta rather than the other kind of cheese and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherryse Corrow

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were excellent and very unique! We ate them in tortillas and it was very good. As we couldn't get cotija cheese we used feta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Very good and a flexible recipe. I didn't have the cotja cheese so I used some jalapeno jack cheese, diced. I used plain tomatoes - drained, as other reviewers said the dish got soggy. It would be easy to make it Italian, adding olives and canellini beans - or Greek - with olives and feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just added what I had on hand (black beans) plus garlic, onion (no cotija handy) and followed the rest and it was DELISH! I also dashed a little cayenne in for heat, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquanymph66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States