Tex Mex Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is good and very filling. I like the spice of it; the peppers add a really bright flavor to this creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This soup was ok. For me the ham didn't really fit into the Tex Mex flavors. My bf said it tasted like someone from Wisconsin tried to do a southwestern soup. I think I'll do this again with a little shrimp in place of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good, spicy soup. Used smoked sausage as suggested. I'll leave the potatoes chunkier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This soup was wonderful! I will definitely be making again. Loved the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNBKLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
SO GOOD! The only thing I changed was to use 2% milk instead of cream (it worked just fine) and smoked sausage we buy locally, instead of ham. (not much of a ham fan) The flavors were great, this is a real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
My husband said, "That's potato soup!" I did not puree the potatoes as we like a little more chunky consistancy, and they were already falling apart a bit anyway. Wonderful flavor and so comforting on a cold, rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used this recipe as a solid base to create my own personal version. I used only jalepeno pepper for both taste and a little heat. I also blended in cilantro, lime, some raw carrot and a little cream cheese with the potato/broth mixture. I'm a big fan of garlic, so I chopped up several cloves to simmer with the onions. I can't tell you how fantastic this turned out. I even froze some for later, and am eating it now as I type. Still tastes amazing. Never be afraid to get off the beaten track of your recipe and do your own thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
An excellent and flavorful soup. I've made it several times without the meat and substituting water for the broth for a vegetarian alternative. I also added several cloves of garlic and extra red and green and also yellow pepper. Yummy every time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States