Tex Mex Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is good and very filling. I like the spice of it; the peppers add a really bright flavor to this creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This soup was ok. For me the ham didn't really fit into the Tex Mex flavors. My bf said it tasted like someone from Wisconsin tried to do a southwestern soup. I think I'll do this again with a little shrimp in place of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Good, spicy soup. Used smoked sausage as suggested. I'll leave the potatoes chunkier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This soup was wonderful! I will definitely be making again. Loved the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNBKLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
SO GOOD! The only thing I changed was to use 2% milk instead of cream (it worked just fine) and smoked sausage we buy locally, instead of ham. (not much of a ham fan) The flavors were great, this is a real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
My husband said, "That's potato soup!" I did not puree the potatoes as we like a little more chunky consistancy, and they were already falling apart a bit anyway. Wonderful flavor and so comforting on a cold, rainy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I used this recipe as a solid base to create my own personal version. I used only jalepeno pepper for both taste and a little heat. I also blended in cilantro, lime, some raw carrot and a little cream cheese with the potato/broth mixture. I'm a big fan of garlic, so I chopped up several cloves to simmer with the onions. I can't tell you how fantastic this turned out. I even froze some for later, and am eating it now as I type. Still tastes amazing. Never be afraid to get off the beaten track of your recipe and do your own thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
An excellent and flavorful soup. I've made it several times without the meat and substituting water for the broth for a vegetarian alternative. I also added several cloves of garlic and extra red and green and also yellow pepper. Yummy every time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States