Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
We enjoyed this at my house and it was simple to make. I was worried about it being too spicey for my kids so I used mild picante sauce. DH & I might have liked a little more zip but it still had a nice flavor and the kids liked it. I added some chopped smoked turkey from my freezer and about 1 cup of black beans along with the corn and picante sauce. I also used a bit less corn than called for. This is a very rich dish but a nice winter warmer. Leftovers the next day were very good too. The second time I made this, I wanted to use my crock pot. I combined all ingredients from step one in the crock and cooked for several hours. I did the cream cheese step an hour or so before serving. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
LOVED LOVED THIS CHOWDER!! I didn't have frozen corn so I used 2 14.5oz cans (drained). This recipe can EASILY be modified. Next time, I might add some shredded chicken or a can of black or northen beans but I made it as is (with the exception of using additional corn) and it was great! I had no problems with the cream cheese and it was great in this soup. Will make this again and again! Thanks Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
OOOOOHHHHHH my Gooooooooodddddddddddddd!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
As written this didn't work for me. The texture was odd and then if I stopped stirring for more than a few seconds the cream cheese would separate. I wouldn't exactly say bland but it lacked something so I added a little bit of Velveeta and that did the trick. As written I have to give it a 3. Adding Velveeta bumped it to a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This chowder was quick, easy and absolutely delicious. I omitted the margarine and used ultra-lite Philly and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
OOOHhhhh my gosh, this was good! I added garlic to the onion, and a can of black beans to the soup. This was the BEST soup I have ever had. I crushed some tortilla chips on top, and was as happy as a clam! It is almost gone, I have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I halved the cream cheese and doubled the corn and loved it! I've passed the recipe onto many people recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. I added some black beans to turn it into a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
A really good soup that is quite different from anything else. The cream cheese adds a wonderful creamy texture. It was great served with hot homemade corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I added some cubed cooked chicken. Other than that I followed the recipe to a "T". I might use less cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States