Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This is one of my staple dishes. It freezes well so you can double and store. You can omit the chicken broth and make a great dip. A great winter comfort food! Serve with cornbread for a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
very good, quick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Super!I did add black beans as suggested by another reviewer and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
OOOHhhhh my gosh, this was good! I added garlic to the onion, and a can of black beans to the soup. This was the BEST soup I have ever had. I crushed some tortilla chips on top, and was as happy as a clam! It is almost gone, I have to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe is so easy and hardy! Great to use up leftover corn on the cobb. I make this alot and will omit the chili powder and cumin and rely on the flavor of the salsa to carry it mildly. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This is a great soup. Just enough spices! I did add a little more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
We enjoyed this at my house and it was simple to make. I was worried about it being too spicey for my kids so I used mild picante sauce. DH & I might have liked a little more zip but it still had a nice flavor and the kids liked it. I added some chopped smoked turkey from my freezer and about 1 cup of black beans along with the corn and picante sauce. I also used a bit less corn than called for. This is a very rich dish but a nice winter warmer. Leftovers the next day were very good too. The second time I made this, I wanted to use my crock pot. I combined all ingredients from step one in the crock and cooked for several hours. I did the cream cheese step an hour or so before serving. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Nice texture to this. Also good with a can of black beans mixed in. Hubby ate the whole thing, with a few splashes of hot sauce, over the course of a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
My husband, who loves Mexican food, went on and on about this soup. He couldn't get enough of it! I, who like Mexican food, thought it was very good, though just a tad too hot for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Very good! Very easy! Great as is or would be great as a starter and add chicken, beans, etc. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States