Tex-Mex Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Have made this a million times and still love it. The best part is the next day it can serve as a dip as well. Leave it cold and dip with some corn chips (scoops)...Great!!! Recommend to everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very quick to make, and taste great. (Followed the recipe exactly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
loved it! we used a high quality specialty salsa, which made it extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was good, but it tasted a lot like salsa. If I had made it thicker (more flour, less broth/milk), and added chicken and black beans, this would be great as a creamy enchilada stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was alright. I think the flavor of the soup really depends on the salsa you use and I'm not a huge fan of salsa soup (same for my boyfriend). I'd make this again but I'd omit the salsa and use fresh tomatoes and cook them with the onion and add some hot sauce later on - I think that would make it spicy and more soup and less salsa like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I thought this soup was ok, but my bf liked it. I think it just wasn't quite right... Maybe it was too thick for me? I think next time I would puree half (or more) to improve the texture. We'll finish the batch, but I don't think I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is one of my favorite soups...I love the flavor of it. And I like to serve it with tortilla chips to crush into it...YUM. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was great you can add chicken black beans and garlic cut back to 8 oz corn top with tortilla chips cheese and sour cream and you have enchiladia soup....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I changed the recipe slightly: I cooked chicken in broth, diced it, and then added it to the soup after adding the cream cheese. It was excellent! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Yummy, great tex-mex flavor. I used tomatoes with green chiles in place of salsa. I also added cooked chicken and northern beans(what I happen to have). Really great with corn bread. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States