Tex-Mex Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Delicious flavor. I used skinless boneless chicken thighs. I used 1 soup can of water which was a little too much next time i will go with 3/4 cup water. I cooked mine about an hour. very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was really good! Like everyone else, I made a few changes. I used two cans of shredded chicken for the texture (and because it was all the chicken I had!), substituted Green Giant Southwestern Corn (with black beans and red peppers already in the can), brown rice, and used a can of mild Rotel instead of salsa. To add a kick of flavor, I also added a packet of fajita seasoning and mixed the Mexican Cheese in before I put in the oven. I had to cook the casserole for an hour and 5 minutes to fully cook the rice and achieve the right level of thickness. I finished things off by serving over a bed of tortilla chips and topping it off with sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
It was pretty good. It worked well as a filling for tortillas with some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Cooked as directed and the rice was hard as can be. The chicken was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used brown rice and that was probably why my rice was chewy and the sauce was soupy. Great flavor though and the cheesy rice would make a great dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This was really good. I do confess that I too added a can of green chilies, a can of black beans, a med. chopped onion and the whole can of corn (14.5 or 15oz) instead of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I have tried this the original way and it was DELICIOUS! But, I have made it with alterations due to the ingriedents I had on hand, as well. I used cheddar cheese soup and a can and a half of chicken broth mixed with 3/4 packet of taco seasoning, corn, diced tomatoes, black beans, rice and cheddar cheese mixed in..........threw chicken tenderloin pieces on top and covered then put mexican cheese on top.....BOTH WAYS ARE DELICIOUS!!! A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I told my husband that I was going to try something new and you can imagine the look on his face. He was pleasantly surprised when he tried this and said it tasted really good and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Short version: I enjoyed this & will be making it again. Super easy, 10 min from in the pantry to in the oven. Details: I followed the recipe except for using a whole, undrained can of corn (b/c other reviewers had complained of uncooked rice for lack of moisture). Cut 4 quite large chicken breasts in 1/2 to control portion size when done. Cooked covered for 60 minutes at 375 & everything turned out great. There may be a bit too much liquid for my taste, but just barely, so I'll drain the corn next time. Also, if you're cooking for adults, use a medium heat salsa & experiment with adding some cayanne or dash of hot sauce to up the heat a bit; as written this recipe is not bland, but it IS family friendly & keeping kids in mind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I didnt have any pace or salsa so I made up the box of rice a roni spanish rice I had by the box. Didn't need to add the water and rice because of that. During the last 5 or 10 minutes of baking i broke up chips and then spread the cheddar cheese. My hubby loved it and so did I. Served with a side of guacamole and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AddiesMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States