Tex-Mex Burger with Cajun Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Great Burger! Whipped up cajun seasoning (from a cookbook recipe) by using 2 parts black pepper, 1 part ground cayenne, 1 part cumin, 1 part nutmeg and a dash of salt. Used yellow onion, not white and I think the beef was just round or 'hamburger'. Didn't have pepperjack slices, so used provolone. The mayo made a great topper. One of the best burgers we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
This was awesome! :] Really really good. I added extra worcestershire sauce to it. I roughly cut my jalapenos and onions, since it doesnt bother me, but other people might want to finely chop their vegetables. I really love spicy food, so next time i might add hot sauce/tabasco to the meat or something. If you arent a lover of spicy foods, heres a tip: the heat of a jalapeno is within the membrane inside it, so if you remove that it wont be as hot. Also, 1/2 cup of mayonnaise was alot. I think i used about a couple teaspoons per burger. You'll probably only need 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup. Next time [and there definately will be] i might add a little more seasoning to the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
These burgers are just awesome! I followed the recipe exactly and they were fantastic, and I can't say enough about how simple but perfect the cajun mayo was. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
The search for the perfect home burger is over! Oh my! These were fabulous! I pre-grilled my buns in olive oil on the griddle while I was making my burger mix. Then I stuck them back in their bag to stay warm and moist while I griddled the burgers. The spicy mayo just makes these burgers. Thank you! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Great burger! The mayo really topped it off nicely. Was on the lower end of spicy for us, so next time I'll be more generous with the jalapenos and spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This recipe was really pretty good... maybe just a bit too much pepper for my liking as they were a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Really good!!! Nice & Spicey!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
WONDERFUL! Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Delicious burgers. Nice and juicy. I would add extra jalepeno peppers to it the next time as I found it still needed more kick - but I like things HOT and SPICY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is a good recipe...pretty flavorful and a nice change from regular burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States