Tex-Mex Burger with Cajun Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
A nice change up from the everyday burger. They are very spicey. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was a great change to a simple burger. We used venison instead of beef so to keep it moist, I added an egg and 1/8 c. milk to the meat mixture. I believe next time I will add more cajun seasoning and maybe some creole to the mayo. Other than that, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Toast those buns, cajun-up the mayo, and this is such a great hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Good burger recipe! I made this for a spontaneous BBQ one weekday evening and it was easy and tasty! Everyone loved the jalapeno and the cajun mayo was yummy too. Next time I think I'll make extra mayo and make sweet potato fries to dip. I'm giving it a 4/5 stars because I thought that while it was spicy it lacked a bit of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was very good, but I think next time instead of Cajun seasoning in the mayo, I would use a chipotle cumin mix. Also, I had a hard time keeping the burger patties formed, had to freeze them a bit to hold together for the grill. They were pretty wet...maybe next time just a little bit of fine bread crumbs to hold things together. We will make these again, my husband loved these burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Oh my goodness! These were so wonderful especially with the Videlia onions finally on the west coast now : ) We cut the cajun seasoning a bit...absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
made this for a cookout and it was a huge hit! my family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maringouin, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
So delicious! Been watching the carbs so just served it on a bed of lettuce with a dollop of the mayo on top and topped with the burger & tomato wedges. I used regular jack cheese because I didn't have any pepper jack. Added a few pickled jalapeno slices for extra zip and topping! Super good! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This hamburger was amazing! I was afraid that with the jalapeno it would be too spicy, but it added just the right amount of kick to the burger. The mayo/cajun seasoning was a great way to tie the whole thing together so that you got spicy-ness throughout. I got in a hurry and forgot to add the Worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture (realized it right when I was grilling them - oops!), but it didn't seem like the burger was missing anything. Loved by the whole family, my husband and I each ate one, and we gave a half to our three year old...now to see who gets the one leftover hamburger tomorrow. Will make again soon, I'm sure. Thanks for the great recipe, Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty good! Plans changed suddenly when I couldn't find thawed, uncooked shrimp while shopping for tonight's dinner. I did a quick search for burgers on my iPad and this was the first recipe to come up in my recipe box. Since I had already saved this, I decided to go for it. While this wasn't my favorite burger, I thought it was quite good nonetheless. My hubby thought it was "OK," but then again, he likes his burgers plain (plain = blah!). I pretty much followed Sarah's directions exactly except for subbing Emeril's Southwest seasoning for Cajun seasoning / Essence (I thought I had the latter at home, but didn't). I liked my substitution a lot! The Southwest spice blend complemented the jalapeno in the burger nicely! Served on seeded hamburger buns with pepperjack, lettuce, tomato, guacamole, "Southwestern-seasoned" mayo and a side of chips / salsa, this was a quick and filling meal. Thanks for sharing, Ms. Stephan! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States