Tex-Mex Burger with Cajun Mayo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Made these for my boyfriend's flatmates and got rave reviews! We tried both pepperjack and colby jack cheeses, and both were well-received. Not being a mayo fan I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe...it complements the kick in the burgers really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is great if you like a bit of spice with your burgers. It has become a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almightysk

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These burgers are delicious and the cajun mayo would make a great sauce to use on any burger. I used regular hamburger for convenience. I actually found the burgers to be a bit too moist, so I would probably use dried minced onion or onion powder in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Perfect! For personal taste, I added a bit of cayenne to the meat mix, and 4 large mushrooms finely diced for increased juiciness. For extra spice, don't seed the jalapeno! I used one 16oz tube of 93/7 ground turkey and didn't miss the beef at all. For the mayo, I used 1/3 cup fat free mayo, 1 tsp Cajun seasoning, 1.5 tsp minced garlic, a pinch of salt and a few dashes of cayenne. We love it spicy and this hit the spot. Thanks so much for the recipe. This will definitely be a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
My husband made these on the grill and they were some of the best burgers he has made! Very flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HShanks
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I was worried that this burger would taste a little like a spicy meatloaf but I am so glad that I tried this recipe. The cajun mayo is delicious and really makes this burger taste like it came from our favorite gourmet restaurant. My picky husband even gave it a thumbs up. I didn't have the fresh jalapeno so I used a couple of slices of pickled jalapeno and used American cheese. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HShanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This burger was exceptional! I followed the recipe almost exactly (used dried onions and about 1/4 cup of red wine in addition to the worcestershire). We cooked on the grill; they were really thick and took a bit longer than 5 minutes per side, but they came out to a perfect medium temperature. We didn't make/use the cajun mayo, tomato or lettuce - just ate them as is on ciabatta buns. These were so juicy and flavorful, absolutely high-end restaurant quality! I recommend using 80/20 ground beef so they stay moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This burger is better than any burger I've had in a long time. It is definitely spicy and full of flavor. We made it exactly as written and will make it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Next time I think I may add more peppers. Thees were really good, but didn't have the "kick" I was expecting. The cajun mayo was a great addition. I didn't have pepperjack on hand, so next time will try that also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I'd never had ground sirloin before. Maybe that was part of the reason I didn't care for it too much. I think regular hamburger would be better. I really disliked the mayo. Prefer ketchup and mustard on a burger. I felt there was too much cajun seasoning in the burgers and the mayo. Way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Bronco Burger

Here’s a spicy, manly man’s burger that’s perfect for tailgating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States