Tex Mex Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
LOVE THIS!!! I made some cuban black beans and had a lot left over so I made this and WOW!!! This will be great for potlucks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yummy and my husband loved it as well. He says it on his top list of dips, just about as good as the good ole' 7 layer dip. My only suggestion to all is to use spices to your tasting and not necessarily follow just what is listed here. I sauted onions, garlix etc., but I also added onion powder, garlic powder etc. I like my stuff more flavorful and this just needs a small boost more of taste. I used organic black beans and it was wonderful. I would Highly reccommend having a side of sour cream. Get your tortilla chip, swooooooop up the black bean dip and then add a dollop of sour cream :-) ha ha- but yum yum ya mon- jamiacan style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Another hit. I took this to a large Christmas party and almost everyone asked for the recipe. I personally like things a bit spicer, but this was perfect for a large group of people with a variety of heat tolerance. It just has a great flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Everyone at the table enjoyed this dip! I was told I must make it again. I cooked dried beans instead of using canned and I used Velveeta pepper jack for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
It just wasn't anything special....I know there are better bean dips out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Terrific dip and good to make ahead and heat up later! Made the dip in the morning and kept in fridge until party, put in a crock pot- then added the cheese and cilantro.... I tripled the recipe, and didn't have much leftover. I used frozen corn, and roma tomatoes with the seeds removed and mashed the beans again after every thing was in the fry pan.... added more cumin and chili, and salt. Always add more cheese and picante throughout the night, keeps it moist. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleDoode

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
The flavor was okay but the texture was way too thick. We love TexMex but this just didn't do it for us. I'm going to try some of the other black bean dips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I loved this! Thought it was great, and I didn't change a thing. Served on fried corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
good but rather bland. should call for hot picante, not medium or mild. definitely must serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Just okay. I didn't think the flavors really came together...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States