Tex Mex Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Easy to prepare and a nice taste. I used 1 Cup of med. salsa instead of the picante sauce and tomatoes. I also used cheese with jalapenos for more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I used to make this dip a long time ago and lost the recipe. THANK GOD Ingrid submitted it here! I do one thing different which is very good as well. I do not cook the ingredients. I add everything in a bowl and let it sit overnight (much better the next day). I also do not add the picante sauce when I do it this way. TRUST ME this is a winner! I brought it to a Holiday party and it was the first thing gone and everyone asked me for the recipe. I will have to try it Ingrids way of cooking the ingredients but I am so happy with the way I make it by keeping everything fresh. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIRIS12000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This is so good! I've made it several times with a few variations. I used homemade beans; either black beans or black-eyed peas or a combination of each. I used raw purple onion and chunky salsa in place of the picante sauce. Rather than the cumin & chili powder, I used homemade taco seasoning mix - also from this website. We've tried it with and without cheese, warm and cold. It is wonderful any way it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty. I made these changes but these are my personal preference. I added 1/4 teaspoon salt (only because the tortilla chips i used have salt on them, otherwise add more salt) and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper I used a little over half a cup pace picante medium salsa. I also mashed the beans more than half-way through because thats how i like them. I followed the recipe exactly how written other than the changes above. Also, do not add the lime juice, cheese and cilantro until ready to serve. Very important. I will keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This is so good. I used Southwestern Black Beans and Hot Pepper Cheese. It was so good that it was hard to put away but I had to, this recipe makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is the best bean dip recipe I have found. Best if served and eaten while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baileyville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This rocks. I didn't have any fresh (or frozen corn), though, and I took a risk... I substituted with creamed corn. It was awesome! I added jalepenos and hot sauce to balance the sweetness of the corn. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Wow - this is yummy! I used no oil and added a little extra reduced fat Mexican cheese, and extra cilantro and lime juice. As a result, mine was probably a little runnier (and also, my can of black beans had more water than beans! I was thinking of adding more beans, since once I drained the liquid, there was less than 1/2 the can of actual beans, but didn't). This dip is refreshing and very flavorful! Oh, funny - now that I went back to read the recipe, I didn't follow directions at all - ha. I didn't cook anything - just blended all the raw ingredients together, and it was still good! I'll try following directions the next time to see if it's even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was AMAZING. It also made a fabulous enchilada filling. I adjusted the recipe a little. I had a giant 32oz can of beans, so I used that, an entire can of corn, and a jar of spicy organic black bean and corn salsa. I had some chipotle chili powder and that added a nice smoky flavor. I used one of those bags of 'Mexican Blend' cheeses and I added extra cheese, but it was delicious without the cheese. It also makes a really filling meal served over rice and it makes great quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
so good. be sure to serve hot. Once it gets cool it's hard to dip tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States