Tex Mex Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Wow! Delish. Thick, chunky, tasty. Serve alongside sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty. I made these changes but these are my personal preference. I added 1/4 teaspoon salt (only because the tortilla chips i used have salt on them, otherwise add more salt) and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper I used a little over half a cup pace picante medium salsa. I also mashed the beans more than half-way through because thats how i like them. I followed the recipe exactly how written other than the changes above. Also, do not add the lime juice, cheese and cilantro until ready to serve. Very important. I will keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Yummy and refreshing. I skipped the oil and onions. Blended all other ingredients (along with a tsp of salt) and topped with more cilantro as a garnish. Didn't cook a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My husband made this for a party tonight, and it tastes wonderful! Also looks nice with cheddar cheese on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Wow - this is yummy! I used no oil and added a little extra reduced fat Mexican cheese, and extra cilantro and lime juice. As a result, mine was probably a little runnier (and also, my can of black beans had more water than beans! I was thinking of adding more beans, since once I drained the liquid, there was less than 1/2 the can of actual beans, but didn't). This dip is refreshing and very flavorful! Oh, funny - now that I went back to read the recipe, I didn't follow directions at all - ha. I didn't cook anything - just blended all the raw ingredients together, and it was still good! I'll try following directions the next time to see if it's even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really good stuff. I used medium salsa instead of the picante sauce. Delicious and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Wonderful recipe - super easy and disappears fast. Agree adding jalapeno's makes it wonderful and I like it better without the tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
i Love this black bean dip! i make a few modifications. i only add the chopped tomato, not the salsa, and i add a dash of a thai hot sauce, and i use colby jack cheese instead of monterey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I have made this dip about a dozen times and get rave reviews. It does not look too appetizing however, it tastes incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This is a great recipe!! I add a cup of salsa (Jack's) instead of picante sauce. We also add a little hot sauce or canned jalapenos....HOT! I love it stuffed in a tortilla!! Great tasting, fast recipe. I recommend keeping the items on hand for a quick dip for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States