Tex Mex Black Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Easy to prepare and a nice taste. I used 1 Cup of med. salsa instead of the picante sauce and tomatoes. I also used cheese with jalapenos for more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I used to make this dip a long time ago and lost the recipe. THANK GOD Ingrid submitted it here! I do one thing different which is very good as well. I do not cook the ingredients. I add everything in a bowl and let it sit overnight (much better the next day). I also do not add the picante sauce when I do it this way. TRUST ME this is a winner! I brought it to a Holiday party and it was the first thing gone and everyone asked me for the recipe. I will have to try it Ingrids way of cooking the ingredients but I am so happy with the way I make it by keeping everything fresh. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMIRIS12000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This is so good! I've made it several times with a few variations. I used homemade beans; either black beans or black-eyed peas or a combination of each. I used raw purple onion and chunky salsa in place of the picante sauce. Rather than the cumin & chili powder, I used homemade taco seasoning mix - also from this website. We've tried it with and without cheese, warm and cold. It is wonderful any way it is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very tasty. I made these changes but these are my personal preference. I added 1/4 teaspoon salt (only because the tortilla chips i used have salt on them, otherwise add more salt) and 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper I used a little over half a cup pace picante medium salsa. I also mashed the beans more than half-way through because thats how i like them. I followed the recipe exactly how written other than the changes above. Also, do not add the lime juice, cheese and cilantro until ready to serve. Very important. I will keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
This is so good. I used Southwestern Black Beans and Hot Pepper Cheese. It was so good that it was hard to put away but I had to, this recipe makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is the best bean dip recipe I have found. Best if served and eaten while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baileyville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Wow - this is yummy! I used no oil and added a little extra reduced fat Mexican cheese, and extra cilantro and lime juice. As a result, mine was probably a little runnier (and also, my can of black beans had more water than beans! I was thinking of adding more beans, since once I drained the liquid, there was less than 1/2 the can of actual beans, but didn't). This dip is refreshing and very flavorful! Oh, funny - now that I went back to read the recipe, I didn't follow directions at all - ha. I didn't cook anything - just blended all the raw ingredients together, and it was still good! I'll try following directions the next time to see if it's even better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This rocks. I didn't have any fresh (or frozen corn), though, and I took a risk... I substituted with creamed corn. It was awesome! I added jalepenos and hot sauce to balance the sweetness of the corn. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was AMAZING. It also made a fabulous enchilada filling. I adjusted the recipe a little. I had a giant 32oz can of beans, so I used that, an entire can of corn, and a jar of spicy organic black bean and corn salsa. I had some chipotle chili powder and that added a nice smoky flavor. I used one of those bags of 'Mexican Blend' cheeses and I added extra cheese, but it was delicious without the cheese. It also makes a really filling meal served over rice and it makes great quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oberlin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
so good. be sure to serve hot. Once it gets cool it's hard to dip tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States