Tex-Mex Beef and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
We enjoyed this recipe. To make it quick, I just did it all in a very large skillet on the stovetop. I did not use a can of corn with peppers, all I had was corn. But I added fresh peppers and onions. My family loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
We had this for dinner lastnight, and really enjoyed it. I made it exactly to the recipe, however, the meat mixture looked really soupy with the undrained tomatoes & corn, so I opted not to cover the dish before placing it in the oven. And, in my opinion, it came out perfect this way. Also, next time, I will not bother saving 1/4 cup of the cooking cream, it's a joke trying to spread that much across a 13x9 dish! I'll just mix it all in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I made this last night for my husband and I and we both loved it! I followed the recipe except for a few small things. The grocery store I went to only had the original cooking creme so I just mixed in a 1/2 tsp of chili powder and 1 tsp cajun seasoning into the tub before I used it. I drained the corn before using, and I also did not cover the dish when I put it in the oven. Turned out great! Love the chips and cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Very tasty.. This was a nice and quick meal that everyone loved. I used plain corn (drained) and cooked uncovered for about 30 min. It came out great. I would probably add crushed fritos next time with cheese on top. But an A+ budget meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow... This was a delicious dish. I cooked it according to the recipe. My fiancee & I both enjoyed it, with both of us going back for seconds. It also reheats well. This was enough to feed us for 4 meals, lol. Be warned, it makes a LOT of food. However, it's VERY delicious food!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
OMG! About sums it up! This was amazing!! We wanted more but we were to full to go back lol definitely will make again! I know what I'm bringing for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
really tasty - I didn't have the special cream cheese so I just used regular cream cheese and added some chili powder and cumin. Fresh cilantro on top made it pretty! very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNEWEDDING02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My family and I loved this dish... I have made it a couple times although I have done a few things differently each time... first off each time I was cooking for a lot of people so I doubled the recipe and it worked amazing... I was also pressed for time so I didn't use cooked long grain rice I simply mixed 2 cups of instant whole grain brown rice instead and it turned out great! I have made it without the onion (because of a picky guest) it still tastes good but the onion adds just the right complementary flavor. I also bake for about 25 min then topped the dish with the cheese and chips and baked for 5 more minutes it gives the chips a great crisp and gives the dishes a great look. My family likes spicy so I have also tried it with one can of tomatoes and peppers and a can of roasted tomatoes vs. two cans of the roasted tomatoes… it gives it that extra kick for someone who likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Can't seem to find the Santa Fe blend, so I just use the original and season it myself....a new favorite at my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was an excellent recipe; I didn't have everything on hand, but it was still a huge hit with my family when I made these changes: 1. Used regular diced tomatoes 2. Used homemade taco seasoning - 2 tbsp, add water for moisture (in place of Philadelphia cooking creme) 3. 1/2 cup onions, 1 cup mixed bell peppers, 1 cup corn 4. Layers: rice, cheese, meat & veggies, cheese, crushed corn flakes 5. Covered with aluminum foil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States