Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Excellent cheese enchiladas, just like we get in the taquerias here. This is authentic Tex-Mex. I had enough chili gravy though for two pans although we used it all, it was a bit too much and the next time I'll cut that in half. I used an American-Cheddar shredded cheese blend. I didn't fry the tortillas in the oil, just heated them in the microwave to make them pliable. The second time I made these I did fry the tortillas which takes only a couples of secs per side except it is harder to work with a hot hot tortilla. I was afraid they would be greasy after the frying, but they turned out great after all. I also used half the sauce the second time and it while it wasn't plentiful, it was still adequate. Thanks Rhonda, this recipe is going to get a lot of use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tripled spices and added coriander another mexican seasoning- and instead of using tomatoe sauce - I had a can of diced tomatoes that I pureed cut sugar to 1 tsp. - did not add flour and this recipe was great! My husband even enjoyed it and mentioned how good it was!I changed recipe becuase of everyone stating it was pretty bland and mine had a great taste. Doubled recipe and froze second batch for an wasy dinner ranother night! Come in heat corn tortillas, and put together for casserole, heat and eat!Really enjoyed this! Great for cooler nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wow, I hadn't made enchiladas in a while and this was so easy. I loved that it didn't call for canned sauce. I didn't use the flour, I had a couple of tablespoons tomato paste I had to use up and that just worked perfect with the other ingredients. To cut the fat a little I used super lean ground beef, and I actually used the meat as the filler instead of cheese and topped with the rest of the sauce and sharp white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I've never eaten enchiladas quite like these, but they are excellent. Spices are just right for me, but easily adjustable if you like hotter or milder. Easy to cut in half if serving only two, as is the case for wife and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This recipe was just "o.k." My family was crazy about it. Amazingly enough even with all the spices added it was rather bland...maybe add more salt. The recipe says the flour is divided but I could never figure out why so I added the whole half cup to the 2 cups of water. The meat sauce turned out fine but the enchiladas stuck to the bottom of the dish. Maybe put some meat sauce on the bottom before putting in enchiladas and then pour remaining over top. Interesting idea for enchiladas but probably won't be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This chili type sauce is very common for Tex-Mex style enchiladas, as is Using American cheese. I sauted half the ground beef with some garlic powder, minced onion, cumin and lots of chili powder to use in the filling. Also reduced the sugar and no flour as others suggested, and upped the spices in the sauce as well. These tasted a lot like those at our favorite local restaurant-which are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I only had 1 pound of ground beef, and so was forced to cut the recipe in half, but there was still plenty of sauce. This got rave reviews at my house, and I will definately make it again. It takes a little extra time and effort to lightly fry the tortillas, but it is well worth it. Not only does it make them pliable, but it makes them taste freshly made - something that cannot be achieved with a quick microwave zap. And once you do it a few times you get very efficient. You just lay them out on paper towels and let them cool a bit before handling them. Thanks for a delicious and budget friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe is good, like another poster said, it's a bit bland, I added green chilies to the sauce and put the beef sauce into the tortillas itself. My husband loved these, first time making enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsNW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very good! I added a bit more comino to the sauce but other than that, I didn't change a thing. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm from Texas and let me tell you. This recipe is a staple in Texas. This recipe is almost right - except for the tomato sauce. Leave it out! Brown your flour before you add it to the mixture and use coarse ground chili meat instead of the ground beef. Be sure to drain the fat from the beef. Do not add sugar! And your tortillas should be yellow corn and make sure you fry them in corn oil to the point of a slight crisp..reason being - the tortillas will become soft once you put them together. American cheese works best and I top them with diced onion before I put them into the oven. Good Luck! Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States