Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very good! I added a bit more comino to the sauce but other than that, I didn't change a thing. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This recipe was just "o.k." My family was crazy about it. Amazingly enough even with all the spices added it was rather bland...maybe add more salt. The recipe says the flour is divided but I could never figure out why so I added the whole half cup to the 2 cups of water. The meat sauce turned out fine but the enchiladas stuck to the bottom of the dish. Maybe put some meat sauce on the bottom before putting in enchiladas and then pour remaining over top. Interesting idea for enchiladas but probably won't be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is definitely a keeper...only thing I added was some onions to the cheese filling....very similar to what my husband grew up eating in Oklahoma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very easy to make, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Definitely not what I expected. Too much sugar and not spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tripled spices and added coriander another mexican seasoning- and instead of using tomatoe sauce - I had a can of diced tomatoes that I pureed cut sugar to 1 tsp. - did not add flour and this recipe was great! My husband even enjoyed it and mentioned how good it was!I changed recipe becuase of everyone stating it was pretty bland and mine had a great taste. Doubled recipe and froze second batch for an wasy dinner ranother night! Come in heat corn tortillas, and put together for casserole, heat and eat!Really enjoyed this! Great for cooler nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I usually use a spice pack to make my enchilada sauce but was out and tried this recipe. I reduced the water by half and omitted the flour and sugar. These turned out to be very flavorful and moist. I'll never waste my money on the spice packs again!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome Dish and so easy. Delicious! Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This chili type sauce is very common for Tex-Mex style enchiladas, as is Using American cheese. I sauted half the ground beef with some garlic powder, minced onion, cumin and lots of chili powder to use in the filling. Also reduced the sugar and no flour as others suggested, and upped the spices in the sauce as well. These tasted a lot like those at our favorite local restaurant-which are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Excellent cheese enchiladas, just like we get in the taquerias here. This is authentic Tex-Mex. I had enough chili gravy though for two pans although we used it all, it was a bit too much and the next time I'll cut that in half. I used an American-Cheddar shredded cheese blend. I didn't fry the tortillas in the oil, just heated them in the microwave to make them pliable. The second time I made these I did fry the tortillas which takes only a couples of secs per side except it is harder to work with a hot hot tortilla. I was afraid they would be greasy after the frying, but they turned out great after all. I also used half the sauce the second time and it while it wasn't plentiful, it was still adequate. Thanks Rhonda, this recipe is going to get a lot of use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States