Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have been looking for a great recipe for enchiladas that my children will like. This is it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was really YUMMY!! I had to make a few minor changes due to ingredients on hand. I used crushed tomatoes instead of sauce, and I added a packet of Goya Sazon seasoning. I did not have american cheese, so I used a pouch of Kraft Nacho pre-shredded cheese and Mild Cheddar shredded cheese. I also used flour tortillas because I personally do not like corn tortilla's...that is a personal preference. I probably used more cheese than the recipe called for just because we LOVE melted cheese!! I also made sure that I cooked down the sauce to get the consistency that I preferred. I also used left over eye of round roast diced up....what a great use for left over beef!! The whole family loved this...can't wait to make it again!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
BEST enchilada's i've ever had! I used 1 lb of ground beef.but kept the spices exactly as called for. I was hesitant to use flour mixed w/ water. But what it does is act like a roux. The meat sauce was a dark rich brown, and when you add the flour/water, it lightens the color up a little and i guess makes the sauce a little thicker. I used 1 cup of water for the meat and 1 cup water with maybe 4 tbsp flour mixed. For those complaining the chili was runny, i think the flour/water makes it thicker. Because you can see just by making the sauce how runny it is before adding flour. ALSO, the corn tortilla's can be heated on just a plain heated skillet. They are just as pliable, heating according to instructions on package. I did use El Pato spicy tomato sauce which gave it a kick. If you can't find it, then kick up your tomato sauce yourself...can't be that hard. I hate my Chili, but NOW i've found a new chili recipe...So i've found 2 recipes in 1. Lol! Hey! Thanks for posting, made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Really good enchiladas! I'm new to cooking so I thought for sure I'd mess this up (seeing as how I've burnt water before), but it was a piece of cake. I subsituted the tomato sauce for red enchilada sauce instead thinking it would be spicer...little did I know I bought mild sauce. Want to make these again, but really make them spicy the next time. This is a definite recipe keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Good and less fussy to make than many enchilada recipes. I did add an onion, 4 cloves of garlic and cilantro to the meat mixture as others have suggested. Also, just heat tortillas in the microwave - easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Terrific! I make dinner for 80-120 people and had 1 gallon leftover spicy chili, so I just lined 3 chaffing dishes with corn tortillas (not fried) and layered on top: 6# shredded cheddar cheese, 1 gallon chili, 6# shredded pepper-jack cheese and sliced black olives. Served with tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream and "mexican bean and rice salad" (with avocados and lemon). It was de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowdcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These are OK, but nothing special. I doubled the spices as others suggested, and I agree that without that step they would have been much too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Not even all that cheese in the center could save these enchiladas. They are terrible. I am from Texas and this is NOT Tex Mex. It's terrrrrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This recipe was DELICIOUS! As others had suggested, I doubled the spices including the salt (not the sugar.) I can't imagine how bland and watery it might have tasted without doubling! I used a Mexican cheese blend instead of the traditional Tex-Mex American cheese. That is the only switches I made to the actual recipe. Though I did have some refried beans and a 1/4 of an onion on hand that I threw into the tortillas. OO and I found I had more than enough of all ingredients to just roll up 6 extra tortillas. SUPER yummy! I only gave it 4 stars because the spices needed to be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I only had 1 pound of ground beef, so I used a can of kidney beans and a can of corn to help make up some of the bulk of the meat. It is a great consistency and I think it would be a little too thick if we'd used a full 2 pounds of beef. I used 16 oz of tomato sauce rather than 8 oz, and only 2 cups of water and it's still a little bland. Next time, I'd use 24 oz of tomato sauce and only 1 cup of water. I also added a small onion and 4 cloves of garlic to the beef mixture. Otherwise, followed the recipe as written and the spices are just right for my kids and a little less spicy than I'd like. My only real issue with this recipe is the lack of flavor to the sauce. The spice is there, but the flavor seems diluted by all of that water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodyajohnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States