Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I grew up in south Texas and have lived in Arizona for the past 25 years. Here, the mexican food style is Sonoran and much more "harsh" when it comes to sauces and seasonings than what I had as a kid and young adult. As a rather novice cook, I try to follow every new recipe as close as possible. I read several reviews before I try a recipe, and almost all have great ideas that I sometimes use. Longing for that Tex-Mex flavor of my youth, I tried very hard to stick to this recipe to the letter, but circumstances drove me to small variations. First, I couldn't find bulk American cheese (only those individually wrapped slices), so I chose equal parts of Colby and Monterrey Jack. Second, I had a pound and half of boiled London Broil I wanted to use up, so I shredded that and used it instead of ground beef. Also, I have a cast iron griddle that I used to heat up the tortillas rather than frying them...I still used a spot of oil between every third tortilla and they were pliable enough to roll without a problem. I will definitely make this again. My girlfriend and her daughter loved this dish. The next time I will put chopped onion in some of the enchiladas, as I remember they were done years ago. Some reviewers of this recipe recommend doubling the spices. I'm not sure I agree. To me, Tex-Mex is more about the subtle blend of flavors rather than an over-powering burst of heat. If you want more heat, add hot sauce. Thanks, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe overall. We substituted 20oz ground turkey for the beef, added an extra 8 oz tomato sauce for some of the water, and used 1 tbsp of cayenne pepper in place of some of the chili powder. This combo was good and very flavorful, but Hot on the spicy scale (for the midwest) maybe a solid medium for those of you who are used to spicy. Next time I would try a tsp of Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
everyone that tries this when i make it asks for the recipe. it really is quite good... super easy. the only thing i recommend is this: half the cumin and add just a little more paprika and chili powder instead. here's why: all the cumin makes the sauce taste like taco seasoning packet mix. halfing the cumin lets you taste the garlic and lighter flavors a little more than ALL cumin. thumbs up for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made 1/2 flour and 1/2 corn. My husband and I liked the flour better. My 11 year old daughter did not like at all. I think it needs a lot more spice. I will not be making again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
this was absolutely awesome!! my husband really liked it and he doesnt really like alot of things. there just ok. but he really liked this. i made it like the recipe except doubled the spices and used velveeta cheese in the tortillas and cheddar on the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was really good. Of course I made some changes. I used EL PATO brand mexican tomato sauce- it has a kick to it. Also, I used cheddar and asadero cheeses instead of american. My husband said it was the best homemade enchiladas he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I didn't love these. Enchiladas taste better with enchilada sauce and I don't really like putting the meat on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have never attempted to make enchiladas because I had been told it was time consuming and difficult to match the ones at your favorite Mexican resturant...well, wrong and wrong again. This recipe was quick and easy and the family and I loved them. My only regret was that I didn't double the recipe so that I could have more leftovers for lunch. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was delicious. It tasted just like it came from a Mexican restaurant. Will make again next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have been looking for a great recipe for enchiladas that my children will like. This is it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States