Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used this as a base recipe. I used flour tortillas (more common in Canada than corn) and filled them with beef and cheese, instead of putting the beef in the sauce. I used my own favourite seasonings, and put some taco sauce in with the tomato sauce (medium or mild depending on what is available and who is eating it). I really love these, and everyone I have made them for loves them too! I am sure the original recipe is fantastic, I just wanted to try them the way I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
loved it. it was a bit spicy for me, but my husband and his 2 brothers ate the whole thing. ill definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishcheeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
the tortillas were lost in the pounds of goop poured over top. and bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Smith Johns

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband and kids loved this recipe. We had leftovers and even those were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
It was good, but not what I expected. I think it was a nice change for us to eat something different. I added onion, and peppers, minced garlic to the meat.... I added the seasoning, but it was so bland I had to open up a pack of taco bell seasoning and add some to it... Maybe I didn't make it right... or it could be it was just different than what I am used to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieMakamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
My kids love these, we only make one change and this is using flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Moses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I grew up in south Texas and have lived in Arizona for the past 25 years. Here, the mexican food style is Sonoran and much more "harsh" when it comes to sauces and seasonings than what I had as a kid and young adult. As a rather novice cook, I try to follow every new recipe as close as possible. I read several reviews before I try a recipe, and almost all have great ideas that I sometimes use. Longing for that Tex-Mex flavor of my youth, I tried very hard to stick to this recipe to the letter, but circumstances drove me to small variations. First, I couldn't find bulk American cheese (only those individually wrapped slices), so I chose equal parts of Colby and Monterrey Jack. Second, I had a pound and half of boiled London Broil I wanted to use up, so I shredded that and used it instead of ground beef. Also, I have a cast iron griddle that I used to heat up the tortillas rather than frying them...I still used a spot of oil between every third tortilla and they were pliable enough to roll without a problem. I will definitely make this again. My girlfriend and her daughter loved this dish. The next time I will put chopped onion in some of the enchiladas, as I remember they were done years ago. Some reviewers of this recipe recommend doubling the spices. I'm not sure I agree. To me, Tex-Mex is more about the subtle blend of flavors rather than an over-powering burst of heat. If you want more heat, add hot sauce. Thanks, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe overall. We substituted 20oz ground turkey for the beef, added an extra 8 oz tomato sauce for some of the water, and used 1 tbsp of cayenne pepper in place of some of the chili powder. This combo was good and very flavorful, but Hot on the spicy scale (for the midwest) maybe a solid medium for those of you who are used to spicy. Next time I would try a tsp of Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
everyone that tries this when i make it asks for the recipe. it really is quite good... super easy. the only thing i recommend is this: half the cumin and add just a little more paprika and chili powder instead. here's why: all the cumin makes the sauce taste like taco seasoning packet mix. halfing the cumin lets you taste the garlic and lighter flavors a little more than ALL cumin. thumbs up for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made 1/2 flour and 1/2 corn. My husband and I liked the flour better. My 11 year old daughter did not like at all. I think it needs a lot more spice. I will not be making again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States