Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm from Texas and let me tell you. This recipe is a staple in Texas. This recipe is almost right - except for the tomato sauce. Leave it out! Brown your flour before you add it to the mixture and use coarse ground chili meat instead of the ground beef. Be sure to drain the fat from the beef. Do not add sugar! And your tortillas should be yellow corn and make sure you fry them in corn oil to the point of a slight crisp..reason being - the tortillas will become soft once you put them together. American cheese works best and I top them with diced onion before I put them into the oven. Good Luck! Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
You know it's good when everyone at the table eats it! We don't have good "Tex-Mex" where we live so this is my go-to recipe when we're craving enchiladas! Only one change, I shred colby and pepper jack cheeses for the recipe instead of American.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
So good! My husband and I ate every bite of this over 2 days. He's already asking when I will make it again. I did add green onions inside the rolled tortillas and on the cheese on top, but other than that I didn't change anything. Next time I think I will add some more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good and simple to make. I had to add about 2x the amount of spices to get the taste I like. Next time I would recommend more tortillas rolled into smaller (taquito) size to offset the amount of cheese and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I made a few changes to the recipe. I added only half of the tomato sauce and then substitute the rest with salsa. I omitted the salt, flour, water and sugar. I didn't fry the tortillas. I put some tomato sauce in the dish and I rolled the meat inside the tortillas. The rest of the meat were just put at the top and then a layer of cheese. It was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used this as a base recipe. I used flour tortillas (more common in Canada than corn) and filled them with beef and cheese, instead of putting the beef in the sauce. I used my own favourite seasonings, and put some taco sauce in with the tomato sauce (medium or mild depending on what is available and who is eating it). I really love these, and everyone I have made them for loves them too! I am sure the original recipe is fantastic, I just wanted to try them the way I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
loved it. it was a bit spicy for me, but my husband and his 2 brothers ate the whole thing. ill definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishcheeks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
the tortillas were lost in the pounds of goop poured over top. and bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Smith Johns

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My husband and kids loved this recipe. We had leftovers and even those were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
It was good, but not what I expected. I think it was a nice change for us to eat something different. I added onion, and peppers, minced garlic to the meat.... I added the seasoning, but it was so bland I had to open up a pack of taco bell seasoning and add some to it... Maybe I didn't make it right... or it could be it was just different than what I am used to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieMakamson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States