Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
The sauce came out a bit bland. Ended up adding quite a bit more salt plus cayenne pepper. I was surprised the recipe doesn't call for onions or bell peppers, so I added those as well. The sauce mix came out too watery. Not sure what went wrong with that. Otherwise, good recipe that just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I didn't have chili powder, so I made my own. For tomato sauce, I used equal parts tomato paste and water, with a little salt added in. Both my sauce pan and baking dish were too small, so I used only three cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My family loved this. I used grated cheddar because that is what I had. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
A big hit with the kids! I halved the meat/sauce amounts and it was still plenty for covering. I probably used more cheese than called for, as we like the enchiladas quite cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this last night. It was very simple and cheap! Based off the previous reviews stating lack of flavor I made some alterations. I only had a pound of meat so I was forced to cut the recipe in half. I sauteed onion just before putting the meat into the pan (which is something I almost always do when cooking with ground beef) and I doubled the salt and added some shakes of cayenne pepper and garlic powder to the mix. Bomb! I didn't fry the tortillas but I warmed them over an open flame and that worked just fine. Before filling the tortillas with cheese I dipped them into the meat sauce (in full enchilada style) and added a bit of the meat mix to them as well. Finally, before popping it into the oven I covered the dish in diced onion and freshly-chopped cilantro. Complimented the sauce very well. I will be making this again, it's very easy to play with the spices which is a plus. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Needs tweaking...it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Loved it. I did use sharp chedder instead of the american due to personal preference. I also added a can of green chiles. Otherwise the measurements of spices were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These taste almost exactly like the enchiladas I grew up eating. For our tastes, though, there is about twice as much chili as we need, so I saved it for another batch. These are *very* Tex-Mex...mild, not spicy, which makes them the ultimate comfort food, in my opinion. They are quick, but if you want save even more time, just layer this for a casserole. Either way, so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a pretty nice dish. I tried to make it exactly as written. My ground beef was 85%, the cooking oil was "vegetable" (soybean), and the tortillas were packaged as a little smaller 5 1/2" size. Also, since the only American cheese I could find was already in slices, I used mild Cheddar instead. I did notice a tiny mistake in the recipe: I saw no reason for the flour to be "divided" as mentioned in the ingredient list. This made a very filling dish, which lasted me for four dinners. It was kind of mild (I love spicy food), but still had lots of cheese, meat, tomato and tortilla goodness. It actually took me back decades to a boxed "Taco Casserole" dinner I had a lot when I was a kid - though the form was slightly different, the taste seemed to be almost identical. Not an awesome recipe, but I did enjoy it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've been making this dish for years now. Only thing I do differently is leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States