Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Loved it. I did use sharp chedder instead of the american due to personal preference. I also added a can of green chiles. Otherwise the measurements of spices were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These taste almost exactly like the enchiladas I grew up eating. For our tastes, though, there is about twice as much chili as we need, so I saved it for another batch. These are *very* Tex-Mex...mild, not spicy, which makes them the ultimate comfort food, in my opinion. They are quick, but if you want save even more time, just layer this for a casserole. Either way, so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a pretty nice dish. I tried to make it exactly as written. My ground beef was 85%, the cooking oil was "vegetable" (soybean), and the tortillas were packaged as a little smaller 5 1/2" size. Also, since the only American cheese I could find was already in slices, I used mild Cheddar instead. I did notice a tiny mistake in the recipe: I saw no reason for the flour to be "divided" as mentioned in the ingredient list. This made a very filling dish, which lasted me for four dinners. It was kind of mild (I love spicy food), but still had lots of cheese, meat, tomato and tortilla goodness. It actually took me back decades to a boxed "Taco Casserole" dinner I had a lot when I was a kid - though the form was slightly different, the taste seemed to be almost identical. Not an awesome recipe, but I did enjoy it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've been making this dish for years now. Only thing I do differently is leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Family loved it! Next I will cook corn tortillas in the oil. I tried to save time and extra calories. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If you like Tex-Mex, these are the best Enchiladas around and super easy to make. No need to look any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and found the meat sauce a little bland, as others have. Adding sauteed onion and some Arizona seasoning (2 tbls) from Penzey's made this dish much better. I was puzzled by the flour being divided, though. No mention of what to do with the second part. I added it to the meat as it browned. That made the meat mixture nicely thick after adding the tomato mixture. I'll definitely make this again with the enhancements I cited here. This might be a good pot luck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Intercourse, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good Tex Mex flavor--the best recipe that I have found so far. I grew up in South Texas and now live in Florida--haven't found any good Tex Mex here so I try to make the dishes that I grew up eating at home. I used Gebhardt chili powder which I think gives an authentic flavor. Definitely will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Waaayyyy too much meat sauce. Definitely will cut in half next time. Other than that, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Eh, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States