Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is definitely a keeper...only thing I added was some onions to the cheese filling....very similar to what my husband grew up eating in Oklahoma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very good! I added a bit more comino to the sauce but other than that, I didn't change a thing. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very easy to make, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tripled spices and added coriander another mexican seasoning- and instead of using tomatoe sauce - I had a can of diced tomatoes that I pureed cut sugar to 1 tsp. - did not add flour and this recipe was great! My husband even enjoyed it and mentioned how good it was!I changed recipe becuase of everyone stating it was pretty bland and mine had a great taste. Doubled recipe and froze second batch for an wasy dinner ranother night! Come in heat corn tortillas, and put together for casserole, heat and eat!Really enjoyed this! Great for cooler nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I usually use a spice pack to make my enchilada sauce but was out and tried this recipe. I reduced the water by half and omitted the flour and sugar. These turned out to be very flavorful and moist. I'll never waste my money on the spice packs again!!! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Excellent cheese enchiladas, just like we get in the taquerias here. This is authentic Tex-Mex. I had enough chili gravy though for two pans although we used it all, it was a bit too much and the next time I'll cut that in half. I used an American-Cheddar shredded cheese blend. I didn't fry the tortillas in the oil, just heated them in the microwave to make them pliable. The second time I made these I did fry the tortillas which takes only a couples of secs per side except it is harder to work with a hot hot tortilla. I was afraid they would be greasy after the frying, but they turned out great after all. I also used half the sauce the second time and it while it wasn't plentiful, it was still adequate. Thanks Rhonda, this recipe is going to get a lot of use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wow, I hadn't made enchiladas in a while and this was so easy. I loved that it didn't call for canned sauce. I didn't use the flour, I had a couple of tablespoons tomato paste I had to use up and that just worked perfect with the other ingredients. To cut the fat a little I used super lean ground beef, and I actually used the meat as the filler instead of cheese and topped with the rest of the sauce and sharp white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome Dish and so easy. Delicious! Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
i made this for my daughters spanish class and they all loved it i also made a low fat version with ground turkey and the kids didnt know the difference. i have and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Shannon Doucet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Added onions to the cheese - otherwise followed exactly - excellent!!!! My parents are huge mexican food fans - they both said best enchiladas they have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States