Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I grew up in san antonio.. meaning I grew up with this tex-mex style enchilada.. I have searched for a recipe like this forever... I gave 4 stars only because I added a LOT more of the spices and more salt as well as a can of mild rotell to the meat & onions to the cheese.... the taste is spot on... I plan on making these again and again.. brought back some great memories,THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I am from Texas but live in Tennessee. We miss the Tex-Mex food the most so thank you for this wonderful recipe. It brings Tex-Mex to us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wow, I hadn't made enchiladas in a while and this was so easy. I loved that it didn't call for canned sauce. I didn't use the flour, I had a couple of tablespoons tomato paste I had to use up and that just worked perfect with the other ingredients. To cut the fat a little I used super lean ground beef, and I actually used the meat as the filler instead of cheese and topped with the rest of the sauce and sharp white cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe is good, like another poster said, it's a bit bland, I added green chilies to the sauce and put the beef sauce into the tortillas itself. My husband loved these, first time making enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsNW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This recipe was Okay. The flour REALLY thickened the sauce, a little to much for my taste causing the enchiladas to be really really heavy. If I make this receipe again, I think I will omit the flour so the sauce will be a little more spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Added onions to the cheese - otherwise followed exactly - excellent!!!! My parents are huge mexican food fans - they both said best enchiladas they have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
i made this for my daughters spanish class and they all loved it i also made a low fat version with ground turkey and the kids didnt know the difference. i have and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Shannon Doucet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Excellent cheese enchiladas, just like we get in the taquerias here. This is authentic Tex-Mex. I had enough chili gravy though for two pans although we used it all, it was a bit too much and the next time I'll cut that in half. I used an American-Cheddar shredded cheese blend. I didn't fry the tortillas in the oil, just heated them in the microwave to make them pliable. The second time I made these I did fry the tortillas which takes only a couples of secs per side except it is harder to work with a hot hot tortilla. I was afraid they would be greasy after the frying, but they turned out great after all. I also used half the sauce the second time and it while it wasn't plentiful, it was still adequate. Thanks Rhonda, this recipe is going to get a lot of use in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This chili type sauce is very common for Tex-Mex style enchiladas, as is Using American cheese. I sauted half the ground beef with some garlic powder, minced onion, cumin and lots of chili powder to use in the filling. Also reduced the sugar and no flour as others suggested, and upped the spices in the sauce as well. These tasted a lot like those at our favorite local restaurant-which are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Awesome Dish and so easy. Delicious! Even better reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States