Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I wanted to use a full 3 lbs. of ground beef, so I used the calculator and used those amounts. The only change was I used 4 c. of water instead of 6 and a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce. Had to use my extra large lasagna pan to fit it all! Also heated the flour tortillas for a few seconds in the microwave rather than use the oil. Topped with a combination of Colby and Monterey Jack and sharp Cheddar shreds. It came out wonderfully! We will definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was born and raised in Texas and miss Tex-Mex food. This receipe wasn't that hard to make and can easily be changed to the taste of the person making it. I made it to the receipe's instructions, with the exception of using only 1 lb of ground meat, and it was good. I think next time I will add some sauteed onion into the cheese enchiladas for added flavor and will try the short cut of microwaving the shells instead of frying them. My husband, who can be picky and fearful of trying new foods, loved these enchiladas! If the sauce taste a little bland and a little extra of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay650

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Being from San Antonio, Tex Mex is everywhere here. Some restaurants have fair enchiladas and some will make you never want to go back. If you are looking for an awesome at home version of original Tex Mex enchiladas, look no further on this site!! These were incredible. They had just enough spice to them, they were super creamy on the inside because of the American cheese (dont use Cheddar) and my family devoured all of them. I doubled the batch and made 24! Thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe, will be our "at home" version of enchiladas from now on! Great topped with a few diced jalapenos! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Helotes, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great recipe. I used flour tortillas instead of corn. I also made 12 enchiladas and baked them all at once instead of only 6. I added refried beans to the tortilla with the cheese. I didn't think it was spicy enough, but I used taco seasoning instead of individual spices, which could have been my problem. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lili Goehring
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was very good. My fiance loves mexican food and freaked out over this. I doubled the spices and added another 2 cups of cheese (I'm from Wisconsin). I put this in a 9x13 pyrlex dish and I did not have a problem with these sticking. However, the pan was heaping so I put some aluminum foil underneath when baking. I'm glad I did because there was some overflow. Also, I'm not sure how 2 Tblsp of oil can last for all 12 torillas. I ended up using about 1/2 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
These were the Shhhh! I grew up in TX & wanted to put the hype to the test. I was very pleased as were all 6 daughters and wife! We have picky eaters and everyone loved these. I made too much sauce but it turns out it is perfect for a chili dog ! yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John_3_3_3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schertz, Texas, USA
Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Perfect Tex-Mex recipe! They closed our local Don Pablos restaurant and we haven't found another quite as good witht heir Tex-Mex food....now we can have it right iin our home! Thanks....very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! He said it was better than my mother-in-law's version. Thanks:)-Tessa Garcia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great basic recipe! Very forgiving in its general make-up. I cut the recipe in half and we still had two meals when served with Spanish rice and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This recipe is so delicious! It was everything I was hoping it would be. I found the spices to be just perfect, and I like my food flavorful, not bland. This makes an awful lot of sauce, so the next time I make this I will use half and freeze the other half for another meal. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States