Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have never attempted to make enchiladas because I had been told it was time consuming and difficult to match the ones at your favorite Mexican resturant...well, wrong and wrong again. This recipe was quick and easy and the family and I loved them. My only regret was that I didn't double the recipe so that I could have more leftovers for lunch. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was delicious. It tasted just like it came from a Mexican restaurant. Will make again next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I have been looking for a great recipe for enchiladas that my children will like. This is it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryi Mauney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was really YUMMY!! I had to make a few minor changes due to ingredients on hand. I used crushed tomatoes instead of sauce, and I added a packet of Goya Sazon seasoning. I did not have american cheese, so I used a pouch of Kraft Nacho pre-shredded cheese and Mild Cheddar shredded cheese. I also used flour tortillas because I personally do not like corn tortilla's...that is a personal preference. I probably used more cheese than the recipe called for just because we LOVE melted cheese!! I also made sure that I cooked down the sauce to get the consistency that I preferred. I also used left over eye of round roast diced up....what a great use for left over beef!! The whole family loved this...can't wait to make it again!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMARISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wantage Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
BEST enchilada's i've ever had! I used 1 lb of ground beef.but kept the spices exactly as called for. I was hesitant to use flour mixed w/ water. But what it does is act like a roux. The meat sauce was a dark rich brown, and when you add the flour/water, it lightens the color up a little and i guess makes the sauce a little thicker. I used 1 cup of water for the meat and 1 cup water with maybe 4 tbsp flour mixed. For those complaining the chili was runny, i think the flour/water makes it thicker. Because you can see just by making the sauce how runny it is before adding flour. ALSO, the corn tortilla's can be heated on just a plain heated skillet. They are just as pliable, heating according to instructions on package. I did use El Pato spicy tomato sauce which gave it a kick. If you can't find it, then kick up your tomato sauce yourself...can't be that hard. I hate my Chili, but NOW i've found a new chili recipe...So i've found 2 recipes in 1. Lol! Hey! Thanks for posting, made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Really good enchiladas! I'm new to cooking so I thought for sure I'd mess this up (seeing as how I've burnt water before), but it was a piece of cake. I subsituted the tomato sauce for red enchilada sauce instead thinking it would be spicer...little did I know I bought mild sauce. Want to make these again, but really make them spicy the next time. This is a definite recipe keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Elko, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Good and less fussy to make than many enchilada recipes. I did add an onion, 4 cloves of garlic and cilantro to the meat mixture as others have suggested. Also, just heat tortillas in the microwave - easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Terrific! I make dinner for 80-120 people and had 1 gallon leftover spicy chili, so I just lined 3 chaffing dishes with corn tortillas (not fried) and layered on top: 6# shredded cheddar cheese, 1 gallon chili, 6# shredded pepper-jack cheese and sliced black olives. Served with tortilla chips, salsa and sour cream and "mexican bean and rice salad" (with avocados and lemon). It was de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crowdcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
These are OK, but nothing special. I doubled the spices as others suggested, and I agree that without that step they would have been much too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Not even all that cheese in the center could save these enchiladas. They are terrible. I am from Texas and this is NOT Tex Mex. It's terrrrrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef Enchilada Bake

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy beef enchilada casserole.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States