Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
If you like Tex-Mex, these are the best Enchiladas around and super easy to make. No need to look any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and found the meat sauce a little bland, as others have. Adding sauteed onion and some Arizona seasoning (2 tbls) from Penzey's made this dish much better. I was puzzled by the flour being divided, though. No mention of what to do with the second part. I added it to the meat as it browned. That made the meat mixture nicely thick after adding the tomato mixture. I'll definitely make this again with the enhancements I cited here. This might be a good pot luck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Intercourse, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good Tex Mex flavor--the best recipe that I have found so far. I grew up in South Texas and now live in Florida--haven't found any good Tex Mex here so I try to make the dishes that I grew up eating at home. I used Gebhardt chili powder which I think gives an authentic flavor. Definitely will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Waaayyyy too much meat sauce. Definitely will cut in half next time. Other than that, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Eh, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Regardless of the amount of seasoning they really weren't flavourful. I followed the recipe and didn't make any changes. I went ahead and fried the tortillas as well. I'm not sure what it's missing but I was expecting a robust flavour...they were good but just needed some more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Omgosh! I cooked these last night and they taste just like the ones I used to order at El Chico's when I was a girl. I only used one tablespoon of chili powder so they'd be less spicy for my girls but they still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMPINKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This almost inside out recipe caught my eye. I'm glad I tried it, but equally glad that I read reviews first. I had to really modify based on other reviewers stating..."lack of salt and bland". I highly suggest using chicken stock instead of water to fix this. That alone would probably make it acceptable, but I did much more. I keep homemade " mini cubes" of pureed, canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in my freezer since they are very spicy and I don't want to waste a can when I need to add a little punch to something. I tossed one into the sauce. I reduced sauce. I did this by eyeing measurements- approx. 2 1/2 cups stock and about 3/4 can tomato sauce. No sugar. Less Cumin. 2 TB flour added to browned meat thickened the sauce just right. Added fresh minced garlic & cilantro, and minced white onion to meat before browning. Tossed in a pinch of kosher salt. Used a mix of American and Colby Jack Cheese. Pretty much followed the remaining general preparation of this recipe as written and topped with green onion. It made a great meal and I'll make it again with these same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Good with the exception of the flour and water. It made the sauce too pasty and thick. Plus it made twice as much sauce as needed and I used a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very Good! My family of 6 all agreed I should definitely make it again! The next time I do, I'm going to try adding onions to the meat mixture and perhaps even inside the tortillas with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States