Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Eh, won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Regardless of the amount of seasoning they really weren't flavourful. I followed the recipe and didn't make any changes. I went ahead and fried the tortillas as well. I'm not sure what it's missing but I was expecting a robust flavour...they were good but just needed some more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Omgosh! I cooked these last night and they taste just like the ones I used to order at El Chico's when I was a girl. I only used one tablespoon of chili powder so they'd be less spicy for my girls but they still came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJMPINKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchitoches, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This almost inside out recipe caught my eye. I'm glad I tried it, but equally glad that I read reviews first. I had to really modify based on other reviewers stating..."lack of salt and bland". I highly suggest using chicken stock instead of water to fix this. That alone would probably make it acceptable, but I did much more. I keep homemade " mini cubes" of pureed, canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in my freezer since they are very spicy and I don't want to waste a can when I need to add a little punch to something. I tossed one into the sauce. I reduced sauce. I did this by eyeing measurements- approx. 2 1/2 cups stock and about 3/4 can tomato sauce. No sugar. Less Cumin. 2 TB flour added to browned meat thickened the sauce just right. Added fresh minced garlic & cilantro, and minced white onion to meat before browning. Tossed in a pinch of kosher salt. Used a mix of American and Colby Jack Cheese. Pretty much followed the remaining general preparation of this recipe as written and topped with green onion. It made a great meal and I'll make it again with these same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Good with the exception of the flour and water. It made the sauce too pasty and thick. Plus it made twice as much sauce as needed and I used a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very Good! My family of 6 all agreed I should definitely make it again! The next time I do, I'm going to try adding onions to the meat mixture and perhaps even inside the tortillas with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent! I did as another reviewer did- decreased the water in half and did not add flour of sugar. I used flour tortillas. Added 1 onion chopped up, Everybody loved it. I MADE THIS A SECOND TIME- I didn't have enough chili powder and only added 1 Tablespoon and it was great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! Just like a resturaunt at home. I did leave out the tomatoe sauce and the sugar like another reviewer suggested and it turned out delicious. Very good recipe i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I will admit I reduced the water to 2 cups, did not use oil for the corn tortillas and used cornstarch instead of flour as the thickener due to gluten intolerant family members. With that said, this was amazing. I did not change any of the intended flavor with my alterations so I am giving this a 5 star! My family raved about it and said the end result was like eating authentic tamales (and they LOVE tamales!! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanBudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Photo by ajalonzo3
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
wow!! these enchiladas were awesome!! my family loves them and ate every bit of it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajalonzo3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States