Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great recipe, needed a pot of beans and found it! I needed a pot of good beans to go with deep pitted meat and this is the perfect recipe to side dish with the meat. I did double the recipe and added a smoked ham hock for smoke flavoring! But I also made a batch a recipe shows and they are great pot of beans as a quick pot or even slow cooking! Tell your friends, great job Terry!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
has a great kick I loved it. I just so happened to have some leftover tostadas which i dipped in the soup it tasted great. any old chips would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very good. I made this for dinner tonight with a pan of cornbread! Yum! Only made 2 changes... I added red salsa instead of green (didn't have any) also added a ham hock (I'm from the South... that's what we do)! Since I used the hock I used regular water instead of chicken stock. I will totally make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Love these. They are a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsewnostalgic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Not that spicy at all, it tastes very similar to a regular pot of beans but with a little tang to it. the beans also had to cook a lot longer and they were still slightly crunchy at the end (the microwave before meals seemed to get rid of that though). I think I'll be trying a different recipe next time or sticking to families favorite way of bacon grease and beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Took closer to 3 hour to get the beans closer to what I expect for tenderness. Don't take the "stir often" lightly, or your beans will stick and turn to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My husband begs for pinto's and cornbread all the time. This one is a winner and by far the best pinto bean recipe I've ever made! I did change it up a little and I will post the way I made it below. I will keep on making it this way for years to come. I have one word for this and that is DELICIOUS! Best served with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/grandmothers-buttermilk-cornbread/detail.aspx . Here is the way I made the beans: 1.Rinse pinto beans off making sure all dirt or anything else is removed from them. 2.Place beans in a big bowl covering them with cold water, make sure water is roughly 3-4 inches above beans so they can expand. Soak them in the fridge overnight for approx 12 hours. 3.Drain water in the morning. 4.Place 4 cups hot water in crock pot with the 2 tsp chicken base and 2 tsp beef base. 5.Place garlic, jalapenos, onion, and cumin powder in the water mixture. 6.Place the beans in the crock pot with the mixture and stir. 7.Top of the bean mixture in the crock pot with two ham hocks placed on either side. 8.Cook on high heat in the crock pot for 2-3 hours. 9.Then place on low heat until supper time, approx 6 hours. They will come out delicious every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Great recipe. I added 2 ham hocks and cooked all day in a crock pot. Added seasoning to taste an hour before serving with a pan of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Absolutely awesome! Definitely my new go-to recipe for beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States