Terry's Texas Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Really good ! I doubled the recipe and made refried beans out of half of them, both ways were awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Love it! I used red salsa, since that is what I had on hand. Excellent with cornbread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Made these without the jalapenos, still quite tasty. Left the salsa on the side for people to add as desired. My beans soaked overnight and they still required a long cook time. Will make them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
i followed the recipe to the letter...made a double batch and froze the rest. Absolutely wonderful! I have been eating beans all week, to the dismay of my family ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
These were delicious! I read over all the reviews and made some additions. I did everything that was in the original recipe; it was just enhanced. I rinsed and soaked the beans overnight. I added 2 pieces of turkey bacon and a little liquid smoke and chili powder. I did need to add some water during cooking. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes and chilis towards the end of cooking along with some cilantro. It tasted a lot like the chara beans I get at Tex/Mex restaurants that I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I was looking for a pinto beans recipe without meat and this was a nice choice. Excellente flavor. I soaked the beans overnight and in the morning added all the ingredientes in the crockpot and let cook on low all day. I added around 3 tsp of liquid smoke for some flavor and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Loved the recipe! Thank you for sharing it. The only change I made was to add one can of roasted diced green chiles for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made these in the crockpot. They were good, but they weren't nearly as spicy as I was expecting. I had to add a lot of cayenne, salt and pepper to get it the way I wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
OK flavor. Used red salsa vs green. Outcome could have been more flavorful. Will add more spices next time- Emeril has a great "southwest essence" seasoning recipe online- yummy but use only a little since spicy. Will make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I used Pace Picante sauce & added a bit of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States